Stanky Hill to Hereford - Off Road in the Cambrians - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2012

Stanky Hill to Hereford

Day 3

Heart 0 Comment 0

I never originally wrote up the final day of the tour back in 2012. What follows are some very short notes based on my route, photos, and the little I can remember

It rained fairly heavily in the night, and while I stayed dry I could still hear the drizzle in the morning, and slept in later than I intended. Despite the apparent remoteness of the track, I certainly heard a dog walker pass my tent the early morning. As usual in England and Wales, they completely left me alone - I think if you're obviously a hiker or biker, and your camping on unenclosed and undeveloped land for a single night, most people aren't too worried.

It was a soggy job putting the tent away, and I continued along a squeltchy Glyndwr's way. I would follow this down to the wonderfully-named Knucklas and Knighton, on the English border.  Bridleways would take me down into the valley; but I had a rather confusing conversation with a farmer, who insisted the way went around to the North, so I had a bit of a diversion (during which I lost my bike computer going down a very steep stoney hill - and then miraculously managed to find it again!).

A soggy ride along Glyndwr's Way. Also pictured is my bike computer which I was to lost in the minute
Heart 0 Comment 0
At times the path was very ill-defined
Heart 0 Comment 0
A misty and drizzle morning. Brrr!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Coming down from Knucklas into Knighton
Heart 0 Comment 0

From Knighton, my off-road adventure would come to an end. I crossed the English border, and would make my way South towards Hereford along tiny country road. The riding was actually pretty pleasant: though it was misty and cool, the roads were deserted. But I felt very tired now, and couldn't much appreciate the scenery or the ride.

I popped onto the A44 near Dilwyn, and then passed through a series of very pretty - and some might say slightly twee villages - full of tudor buildings and tea rooms. 

I had a deadline to make the train by early afternoon, but I was definitely flagging. At one point as the road became busier as I headed towards Hereford I thought I couldn't really go on: I had to stop and eat a whole maltloaf by the side of the road before my energy was restored.

A land of rains
Heart 0 Comment 0
Proper tudor buildings in the little villages North of Hereford. This is Pembridge, I think.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Abundance of tea rooms
Heart 0 Comment 0
Spelling has changed over the centuries
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made it to Hereford without any significant trouble after that, and after the usual job of navigating the one-way system, found the station. I actually had an hour or two to spare, so went and got some chips and restored my energy.

A low-key end to the tour - but the off-road sections were truly impressive, and despite the muddiness give a sense of remoteness it's hard to come by South of Scotland.

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 139 miles (224 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0