Last cycle in NP for now - NZ North Island Hubs and Scenic Spokes - CycleBlaze

March 10, 2019

Last cycle in NP for now

Today was my last ride in NP until my tour group comes back here.  I rode with 2 guys up Wortley Rd and Hursthill Rd.  Up is the operative word here because both hills were well into the double digits.  The route again went through lovely dairy farming country and along a ridge that gave us great views of Mt Taranaki when it peaked out of the clouds.  We climbed 2800ft over 64km/40mi.  For the past 2 days I have been hanging out with the Hamilton clan swimming, walking and golfing.  Tomorrow is bike packing day because I fly to Auckland on Tues AM.

Today’s route, uphill and into the wind.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My Taranaki at sunrise this AM with clouds swooping down both side.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This handsome dude was along our route.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There was a bike festival on today with lots of old and funky bikes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the bikes.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This cormorant was air drying his wings.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The boys coming off the bridge on the cycleway with Taranaki in the distance.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dave and Nick my riding partners today.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Gail JohnsonEasy on the eyes!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
This is what I felt like after being dragged up the hills by the guys.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Gail JohnsonYikes! But great pic. Gotta save that one for Halloween!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 789 km (490 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0