To Hopewell Junction - Back to Beginnings - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2021

To Hopewell Junction

Yesterday's thunderstorms brought little relief from the heat and it was another day of 90+ temperature.  I had a fairly long day and my intent was to get an early start, sufficiently fortified with coffee and some food. My Airbnb was odd in many ways, including no coffee machine. I ventured into town, finding that the place specializing breakfast didn’t open until 9 am – go figure. After coffee and croissant at the Muddy Waters Café, I ordered two peanut butter sandwiches to go at the bodega – I was not going to be caught unprepared if today’s ride was another food dessert. I finally left at the not-so-early time of 8:30, heading for the legendary town of Sleepy Hollow.

The rapid, steep decline from the Greenway down to Tarrytown prompted minor route modification so as to spread out the ascent back up to the greenway. I found the heat map function of RWGps most helpful in finding popular biking roads. After meandering through the town of Sleepy Hollow the route put me on Sleepy Hollow Rd, a glorious road that wound and rolled through Westchester County. I could easily see why it was a popular cycling route. After the briefest of stretch on a couple of NY State Highways, I was back on the HVGT - and it was all greenway all day.

Muddy Waters Cafe
Heart 3 Comment 0
Downtown Sleepy Hollow
Heart 2 Comment 0
Of course the high school team mascot is the Horsemen. And I suppose they're always looking to get ahead!
Heart 2 Comment 1
Peter BrownOww, so bad. it's good.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Sleepy Hollow Rd
Heart 0 Comment 1
Betsy Westgroan....🤪
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Sleepy Hollow Rd
Heart 0 Comment 0
Back on the Greenway - the Westchester North County Trail
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was the best of what Greenways can offer – shade from a blistering heat; lakes, rivers, and wetlands; interesting small towns; and trailside ice cream. Heading northeast, away from the Hudson, the trail ran alongside Route 100 and the Taconic State Parkway before moving farther east through the small towns of Westchester County. There was a lot of trail activity - lycracyclists, recreation riders, women with strollers, joggers and walkers – and most everyone passed with a smile. The trail maintenance crews were out early clearing the debris from last night’s storm. The whole experience seemed a great example of how well-spent tax dollars can enhance our daily life.

I stopped in Yorktown at the Trailside Cafe, drawn by the ICE CREAM sign in the window. I opted for a healthier choice, the Green Power smoothie, to make up for my meager breakfast. Hydrated and powered up, I wandered over to the Revolutionary War memorial in the town park and chatted up Howard and Rachel, who had just finished their morning ride. They’re from Manhattan, living here temporarily to escape the pandemic. It was another reminder of how hard Covid hit the greater New York area, and the dramatic effect it has had on so many lives.

Along the Westchester North County Trail
Heart 4 Comment 0
Millwood, NY
Heart 2 Comment 0
Along the Westchester North County Trail
Heart 3 Comment 0
Croton Reservoir
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Who can resist a stop for ice cream? Not me!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hydrate and power up
Heart 1 Comment 0

The North County Trailway ended as I crossed into Putnam County, linking to the Putnam Trailway that follows old Putnam train line to Brewster. There was little indication that I was on a different trail system, save for the Putnam Trail signage and a preponderance of “pick up after your pet” warnings. There was short detour through the town of Brewster, then the Maybrook Trailway section of the HVGT took me all the way to Hopewell Junction. Here, the bikeway was right next to the tracks, and I had visions of a freak train derailment, reminiscent of The Fugitive. However, it soon became apparent that it had been many years since trains last rode these rails.

This was a desolate but striking section of the Hudson Valley Greenway Trail, passing through Ice Pond and a large wetland area that is part of the Great Swamp. The trailside signage was full of warnings - snakes, ticks, poison ivy – and there were few trees to provide respite from the western sun and heat. I rode miles before finding a suitable place for a rest and a peanut butter sandwich to fortify me for the final 20 miles.

A flotilla of geese on the Middle Branch Reservoir
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking ahead along the Maybrook Trailway
Heart 4 Comment 0
Looking back along the Maybrook Trailway
Heart 2 Comment 0
I always need to remind myself what Poison Ivy looks like
Heart 2 Comment 0
Along the Maybrook Trailway
Heart 0 Comment 0
Along the Maybrook Trailway
Heart 2 Comment 0
Finally found a shady spot for a late lunch
Heart 2 Comment 0
Vincent channeling Jerry Garcia
Heart 5 Comment 0

Nearing Hopewell Junction, the Maybrook Trail crosses the Appalachian Trail, a hiking trail that runs along the Appalachian Mountain range from Georgia to Maine. Hiking the full length of the trail was something I dreamed about in college, but a quick look-see in both directions convinced me that I’ve chosen a much more suitable means of non-motorized long distance travel.

It was only another few miles to my lodging for the night, one I had eagerly anticipated. And it did not disappoint. The Le Chambord at Curry Estate is a hotel/restaurant/conference center run by the six Curry sisters. Jill, one of the sisters, gave me a warm, no-nonsense welcome that immediately endeared her to me. After a long shower, I headed for the dining room for an amazing meal of grilled pear and walnut salad, cold cucumber and dill soup and pistachio crusted New Zealand lamb. A wonderful end to a glorious day on the bike!

The Appalachian Trail heading north to Maine. I guess the backpackers don't worry about snakes and ticks and poison ivy as much as I do.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Scott AndersonI don’t mind the snakes, but I do worry about ticks. I wonder if it has cut down on the hiking traffic in this part of the world.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterLyme disease is a big problem up here - I worry about doing a thorough enough tick check each night. I was just advised to carry doxycycline with me as a 200 mg dose is effective if taken within 24 hr of tick bite. Something to look into.
There have been a few high profile murders on the AT over the last dozen years that could dampen enthusiasm for solo hikers
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
The Appalachian Trail heading south to Georgia.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tractor crossing, but no barn sightings
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Maybrook Trailway runs adjacent to Green Haven Correctional facility and surrounding prison property. A multitude of security cameras are posted along this section of the trail
Heart 0 Comment 0
Le Chambord at Curry Estate
Heart 3 Comment 0
Dining room at Le Chambord - site of an amazing feast
Heart 2 Comment 1
Jeanie Redickyour dinner sounded amazing!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 93 miles (150 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Scott AndersonInteresting to learn of the RWGPS heat map feature. We only use the free version, so I wasn’t aware of it. It looks worth checking out.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonInteresting to learn of the RWGPS heat map feature. We only use the free version, so I wasn’t aware of it. It looks worth checking out.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Scott AndersonBikemap.net has a heat map in the free version. However, comparing the heat map to routes I know well, it's not always reliable. Some of the most frequented roads are one I wouldn't ride.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Suzanne GibsonHi Suzanne
I totally agree that some of the most popular roads are not for me. I do find the feature helpful as one factor to consider when planning routes here in the US where there are little, if any, OSM Cycle Routes. I also use Google Street view, both here and in Europe.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonHi Scott - I usually use the OSMCycle map option in RWGPS in planning routes, but the heat map feature can be useful where there are few designated bike friendly routes. But I agree with Suzanne that popular routes are not always ones I would care to ride on.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago