To Amsterdam - Back to Beginnings - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2021

To Amsterdam

The tour is nearing it's end and there are only a couple more days of cycling until I reach Albany. After a long and good night’s sleep, I woke today rested and hungry. I was told at check-in that breakfast started at 8:00 and was downstairs at 8:03, ready to start my day. On my way to the dining room, I overhead someone in the kitchen wondering how much bacon to cook – not a good sign. In fact, it was the interminable breakfast, with juice, fruit, and French toast delivered at increasingly long intervals. The wait was even more painful as I am not a fan of sickly sweet breakfasts and kept thinking I should bolt to a coffee shop in town. Instead, I passed the time chatting with the group at the next table – four generations of men getting together for a family trip through upstate NY.  

 The weather had taken a decided upturn from yesterday – blue skies with puffy clouds; temperature in 60s; light westerly winds. The first twelve miles were on small roads, passing through the east side of Utica and the town of Frankfort before reaching the Mohawk River near Illion. From there, it was a delightful ten miles on a nicely paved trail that along the river and/or adjacent fields.

 BTW - My camera stopped functioning yesterday. For several days, the lens had been creaking in protest each time it opened and closed. When I turned it on yesterday afternoon, it opened/retracted/opened/retracted several times and then gave me a system error message. I’ll try seeing if there is anything I can do when I get home, but it’s iPhone X photos for the rest of the trip.

Four generations out for a family holiday - Left to right are Gen 2, 1, 3, 4
Heart 1 Comment 0
Along the road section to Illion
Heart 1 Comment 0
Quonset barn
Heart 1 Comment 0
Frankfort Friendly Bakery
Heart 2 Comment 0
Back on the Mohawk River at Illion Marina
Heart 1 Comment 0

From Illion, there was another wonderful stretch on paved trails that ran along the river and/or adjacent fields down toward Little Falls, which lies in a gorge in the Mohawk River Valley.  The city of Little Falls lies on the north side of the river, and reportedly offers great views of the gorge and valley. My route however, passed along the south side through a tree-lined narrow trail. I had brief glimpses of the town/gorge/river, but the trail did not open up until near the Herkimer Home State Historic Site. East of Little Falls was the last remaining unpaved section of the Canalway Trail to Albany. This five mile stretch had a fairly thick coating of stone dust, perhaps recently applied, that slowed my progress a bit. I made it to the 5S Diner in Fort Plain with 30 minutes to spare before they closed, enjoying a burger and quite tasty homemade potato salad.  

Along the Canalway Trail toward Little Falls
Heart 2 Comment 0
Along the Canalway Trail toward Little Falls
Heart 0 Comment 0
Along the Canalway Trail toward Little Falls
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heading toward Amsterdam
Heart 3 Comment 0
Passing through Little Falls on the south side of the Mohawk River
Heart 1 Comment 0
Passing through Little Falls on the south side of the Mohawk River
Heart 1 Comment 1
Betsy WestiPhone does well
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
#tinyhouse weds #vanlife
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Herkimer Home was built in 1764 by Nicholas, a descendent of the Palatines, a group German immigrants. The Palatines originally emigrated from Germany to England in 1709, where they were not well-received. A group of 3000 were sent to New York to fortify the Brittish presence in the American colony. Ironically, Nicholas died from wounds suffered in the Revolutionary War, where he fought for American independence.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A bit east of Little Falls, a thick layer of stone dust covered the last five miles of unpaved trail
Heart 0 Comment 0
Back on pavement at Lock 15
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lunch spot - great homemade potato salad
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back on a tarmac surface, I made good time to the town of Canajoharie and rolled along to Amsterdam, my destination for the day. For most of the afternoon, the Canalway Trail remained separated from the Mohawk River by the New York Thruway and/or NY5S. The constant hum of traffic detracted from what would normally have been a pleasant ride on a nicely paved cycle route. There were few pass-through towns and no resting spots along the way – not even a tree stump in the shade. I took a break at a small bridge crossing, enjoying (NOT) the views and hums of thruway traffic.

The motto of my dissertation advisor
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Canajoharie
Heart 2 Comment 0
Canajoharie was the original home of Beech-Nut Baby Foods. After 118 yrs, Beech-Nut moved to a state-of-the-art factory in a nearby town. The County economic development and planning committee hopes that the factory can be re-developed into a production site for legal marijuana.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Four modes of east-west travel across upstate New York: The Mohawk River; the NY Thruway, NY5S, the Erie Canalway Trail
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Short break surrounded by trees and semis
Heart 1 Comment 0

I made it to Amsterdam in mid-afternoon and easily found my home for the night – the Amsterdam Castle, perched above Amsterdam’s southside neighborhood. It is quite the place, with knights armor arrayed along a vaulted atrium filled with all manner of gargoyles, flags, and historical photos. There is even an air-conditioned garage for the bikes. After a brief rest, I went down the hill for spaghetti and meatballs at Lorenzo’s. It could be the best marinara sauces I’ve had, and I was sorry to leave so much of the large portion on the plate – a disadvantage of touring alone in the States where an entrée portion is often a meal for two.

It was a great day on the road, especially after my struggles yesterday. Back at the castle, I turned out the lights, wanting to get an early start to Albany where I’d booked a 4 pm train to New York.

The Amsterdam Castle towers over the Amsterdam's southside commercial district
Heart 1 Comment 0
The arched atrium of is lined with knights armor
Heart 1 Comment 0
Plumed armor with spear and shield
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the many gold gargoyles
Heart 0 Comment 0
Knight guarding the cigaret bucket
Heart 1 Comment 0
Returning to Amsterdam Castle after a satisfying dinner
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 651 miles (1,048 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Bob DistelbergAh, you passed very close by the small town where I grew up, just a couple miles from Canajoharie. Those photos brought back lots of memories.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachel and Patrick HugensThis is terrific information as we will be doing this as part of our tour. Thanks
Racpat
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Paul MulveyThanks for posting your journey - loved re-living sights from my pass-through in 2017 and especially those parts of the Empire tour from NYC. I want to take my wife with me on the next pass from Manhattan to Buffalo so your experience and photos gave me a good indication of what the route is like. Thanks.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Bob DistelbergThanks for following along Bob. It is a great part of the country and seems like nice place to grow up.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachel and Patrick HugensThanks Racpat - please let me know if you have any questions etc as you get nearer to Buffalo. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy your route across the upper Midwest.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Paul MulveyThanks Paul - I also gleaned quite a lot from your journal so am delighted that I could reciprocate a bit. Have a great trip
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Peter BrownWow, I missed the Castle.I spent the night in the Schnectady/Day's Inn, which I can not recommend.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago