Family Bonding in Brooklyn - Back to Beginnings - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2021

Family Bonding in Brooklyn

Today I ventured to Brooklyn to visit family members that were largely unfamiliar to me. What I feared might be a day of awkward, almost perfunctory small talk instead turned into a day of warmth, laughter and genuine family hugs.

New York City has an expanding network of bicycle lanes, but I chose to leave Vivien George in the hotel room and make use of tried and true city transportation: feet and the subway. I left my hotel near Penn station, took the E and A trains downtown to City Hall Park and after a brief stroll through the park found the entrance to the pedestrian/cycling walkway across the Brooklyn Bridge.

The Brooklyn Bridge connecting Manhattan and Brooklyn opened in May, 1883 and was the longest suspension bridge at that time. An elevated walkway for pedestrians and cyclists runs along the center of the bridge, 18 feet above the car lanes (no trucks are allowed on the bridge). At little more than a mile in length, the promenade is a fairly popular destination for commuters, tourists, and New Yorkers out for a Sunday morning stroll.  Not surprisingly, the ramp up to the walkway was lined with merchants hawking T-shirts, hats, hot dogs and water. 

I moseyed along toward the first of two stone towers, the city streets and East River dropping below. My neck was a swivel and I kept looking back to the ever-broadening expanse the lower Manhattan skyline. One of most prominent features was One World Trade Center, also known as Freedom Tower . The crowds thinned a bit after the first bridge tower -  perhaps due to the blistering heat - but I found the stretch between the two towers the most spectacular. By the time I reached Brooklyn, I was dripping with sweat and sought refuge in the shaded Cadman Plaza Park located near the bridge terminus. Wiped down and cooled off, I headed off to my first family visit.

Fountain in City Hall Park - an enticing place to play on a very hot Sunday morning
Heart 2 Comment 0
New York City Hall
Heart 1 Comment 0
Alway a welcome sentiment
Heart 2 Comment 0
Approaching the first of two stone towers, each with the two Gothic pointed arches.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Looking back toward toward Manhattan and World Trade Center One. The white line separating cyclists from pedestrians was painted in 1971, forming one of the first designated bike lanes in NYC
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Manhattan Bridge to the north
Heart 0 Comment 0
Approaching the second tower and Brooklyn
Heart 0 Comment 0

My nephew JJ lives in the Dumbo section of Brooklyn with his wife Chelsea and their young two sons Knox and Kai. I hadn't seen JJ since we were both in Minneapolis last March and I was looking forward to spending time with Chelsea and the boys, whom I barely know. A potential fly in the plan was that JJ plays basketball and his presence here depended on how his team fared in the playoffs. Alas, he was in LA today for game 7 (his team lost) and I missed him. Nonetheless, I had the most delightful time with Chelsea, Knox and Kai - effortlessly connecting over books, ice cream and slime. 

Heading for lunch with shy Kai and Knox.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Kai, Chelsea and Knox
Heart 2 Comment 0
Capturing both the bridges - Brooklyn in the distance and Manhattan at the fore
Heart 1 Comment 0
I think I'll have a double
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kai shows off his home-made green slime
Heart 0 Comment 0

My next family visit was to my second cousin, also named Susan, who lives near Prospect Park in Brooklyn. She had contacted me several years ago when she was researching family ancestry. We'd had only a few email exchanges since then, but I'd met her father many years ago and thought this trip might be an excellent time for a visit. I took an Uber to her tree-lined street and we spent more than two hours on her balcony discovering our shared past and present, looking through old pictures and family trees. My mother and her father were first cousins, living in Ironton, OH in the late 20's and early 30's. They were a close-knit group of cousins and playmates and those days remained among my mother's fondest memories. 

Trees growing in Brooklyn
Heart 1 Comment 0
The balcony umbrella provided welcome shade on a hot afternoon sharing stories with new-found family
Heart 0 Comment 0
Three generations of the Blanton family, c. 1927. My mother is in the lower right and Susan's father is the lower left
Heart 1 Comment 0
Second cousins
Heart 2 Comment 1
Alyssa LightVery similar cheek bones! Beautiful, y’all look like cousins. Happy you got to visit with Susan:)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Susan walked me to the local subway station and I headed back to Manhattan. I had just settled in for the long ride uptown when she texted me that I had forgotten my computer!! Thankfully I'd only gone four stops, so I headed back to the Fort Hamilton station and met Susan with my computer and charger in tow. I finally made it back to the hotel around 6:30, hot, tired and hungry. 

I opted for Thai take-out and spent the evening going through photos and reflecting on family - and the things we can and cannot control. I am thankful for fortune of good genes and health that keep me active as I grow older. I have cycled in many countries and delighted in the good will and support of strangers who sometimes became friends. Though I'm just starting on this tour, having biked a mere 0.5 miles, I realize that the deep-rooted connection of family is one I most cherish. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Susan GiovanniI am thoroughly enjoying the striking photos, interesting information, and the thoughts and feelings expressed in your entries.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterThanks Susan - I’m looking forward to another great visit
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeanie RedickGreat pictures - lots of smiles and ice cream!! Love the Brooklyn Bridge photos.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Betsy West
Susan,
Love the picots of the kids! Glad you had such good visits and have had the opportunity to reflect on family.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Peter BrownI stumbled upon your journal, having done a similar ride. Lo and behold there you are walking around my neighborhood, Windsor Terrace in Brooklyn.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago