Day 10: Rest day in Riverside. - Northwest Colorado, a bit of Wyoming 2018 - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2018

Day 10: Rest day in Riverside.

Today I plan to rest as much as possible. I need it. Breakfast was served at 8 AM on the patio overlooking the river. It was still chilly in the shade. Breakfast was a simple buffet but homemade and very good.

I walked around the property a bit after breakfast. Spirit West River Lodge has a lot of riverfront. The river is very accessible. But I also had an outstanding view of the river from the window of my room.

View of Encampment river from my room in Riverside, Wyoming.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was hoping to have the energy to pedal 2 miles uphill to explore the historic village museum in Encampment. But I never got motivated to do that.

I pedaled to town twice for a total round trip distance of 2.4 level miles. I cleaned the chain and tightened bolts on the bike, but didn't have many chores to do. It was a genuine rest day.

I took a nap from noon until 4 PM. Then we all went out to dinner at 6 PM. In town I saw 3 TransAm cyclists camped at the RV park.

We are now joining the TransAmerica bicycle route. For the next couple days we will see other touring cyclists. The bike tour experience is qualitatively different when cyclists are common instead of rare.

Spirit West River Lodge cost $183.60 for two nights, two homemade breakfasts, river views, and river sounds. Highly recommended.

Distance: 2.4 mi. (3.8 km)

Today's ride: 2 miles (3 km)
Total: 409 miles (658 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0