Introduction to the prologue rides - Following Zebedee's Son - CycleBlaze

Introduction to the prologue rides

Rails Too Trails

This journal is divided into two parts - Prologues which include five short rides in France two of which qualify as short tours, and my pilgrimage ride in northern Spain. The Spanish ride has its own introduction under the Pilgrimage heading.

In the spring of this year my son, Pohaku and Jen, his wife, contacted us that they were going to France to see the World Cup matches, where the US women were favored to make it to the finals if not win the the championship. MJ, my wife, signed on instantly. Tickets were purchased for the quarter finals, the semis and the final games as were air fares with the exception that I did not immediately purchase a return flight.

What follows are the rides between matches, which are quite varied in scope, duration and location. *

My original plan (hope) was to take my Dahon folding bike directly to Spain and begin the Camino. But when France, family and the World Cup became the reality all bets were off and I am most grateful that reason prevailed. My only cycling gear taken consisted of one modified Ortlieb City pannier (MJ took the other Ortlieb.), a modified Cascade Design SealPak bag, one Camelback water bottle, cycling gloves and my precious Smith Forefront helmet with lights attached.

All the prologues and the Camino were ridden on rental bike of one sort or another.

* Note: All photos not take by me will be credited in the captions.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0