You Have to Earn It - Mediocre Follow-Up 2019 - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2019

You Have to Earn It

Fairfield to San Francisco

My hand-washed clothing was slightly damp this morning, but you go with what you got.

After breakfast I improvised a route back to the Western Express at Rockville. The wind was howling in my face. The American flags still up from Independence Day we’re flying horizontally. Don’t go back to Rockville and waste another gear.

Then it got seriously hilly. I couldn’t believe I was using my granny gear. The map said I had a bike trail ahead. When I got there I saw that it had an 8% grade.

Heart 0 Comment 0

It’s a good thing I threw some stuff out at the hotel.

I arrived at the ferry terminal just as the 10:30 boat was leaving for San Francisco. Killing time I had Friday Coffee Club solo with a pretty awesome chocolate chip cookie.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I sat in the sun with my back to the pier. When I turned around after 20 minutes I saw that a line had formed with well over 100 people in it. No stern and I took a seat inside. The ride was as smooth as a bus until we approached San Francisco. Thankfully the swells were short lived.

Jessie and Mike were waiting for me at the pier. After a short chat we followed a trolley bus up Market Street, dodged a dozen misbehaving pedestrians, rode the Wiggle (a protected bike land that goes this way and that) to The Panhandle, and ended at their place in the Haight.

After Mike moved The Mule and all my stuff upstairs to the apartment, we walked around the block so I could buy a duffle bag for the trip home.

Later they treated me to dinner at a Puerto Rican restaurant, beers at home, and ice cream at a shop up the street.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Tomorrow I’ll ship The Mule home.

Miles today: 28

Tour miles: 2,976

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 2,990 miles (4,812 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0