Long Road to the Start - Mediocre Follow-Up 2019 - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2019

Long Road to the Start

We drove 13 hours to north central Indiana today. My mind kept ticking off all the places along the way that I have biked to and through in the past. Many good memories. Okay, riding over the monster hill in Wheeling on my recumbent in 2005 was no picnic.

Tomorrow morning we go to the local diner, the Fingerhut Bakery, for breakfast then I take off for Kankakee IL. I will stay in a motel there since it is supposed to be a stormy night.

Wind will be an issue. There are no crops in the fields to hide behind. Maybe the weather gods can give me a push.

My left knee is very unhappy with the time in the car.

The Olympics has a motto: Citius, Altius, Fortius. Faster, Higher, Stronger. The motto for this tour is Maior, Corpulentiores, Deterioria Mereri. Older, Fatter, Sorer.

Onward.

And a note to the folks back in DC: I am sorry to have miss this year’s Ride of Silence tonight. As my father used to say: you done good.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0