A Short Day - Mediocre Follow-Up 2019 - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2019

A Short Day

Austin to Cold Springs

Breakfast in Austin was the usual diner fare. It took a while to get my act together.

I hit the road a little after 7:30 and down I rode. No wind or perhaps a light tailwind made the going easy. About five miles into the day I spotted 11 antelope crossing the road. As I approached, five of them did a 180. I held my breath hoping the rest wouldn’t follow. They didn’t.

Into the Reese River Valley, then over 6,670 Mount Airy Summit. The climb was so gradual that I took it with my middle chainring.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Down into Smith Creek Valley then up again over 6,348 New Pass Summit. Once again the climb was gradual and easy.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The descent was as gradual as the climb. I stopped to check out ruins of an old stage coach station.

Heart 0 Comment 0

My route now coincided with the Pony Express, the Overland Stage Company, and the transcontinental telegraph line.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Off and on for the last few days, I’ve encountered big, hopping bugs all over the road. Tens of thousands of them. They looked like camel crickets. They seemed to be mating. Some of them were eating the remains of their dead comrades. I tried to avoid them but CRUNCH, CRUNCH, CRUNCH. Gross!!!!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Just before noon, at exactly 50 miles, I stopped at Cold Springs Station. It has a bar, restaurant, convenience store, RV Park, and motel. I took a seat at the bar next to an eastbound bicycle tourist. He advised me that a motorcycle event had booked all the rooms at my planned stop 13 miles west in Middlegate.

My choice was to ride 60 more miles to Fallon or crash in Cold Springs. I decided to take the path of least resistance and stay in Cold Springs.

Mikes today: 50

Tour miles: 2,584.5

Top speed: 33.5

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 2,595 miles (4,176 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Susan JamesI love that little motel at Cold Springs. I've stopped there twice now whenever I ride across Nevada. I was also assaulted by the Mormon Crickets you ran over. The motel at Middle Gate is worth a pass.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John PickettYes, Cold Springs worked out great. Middle gate was a dump. I ate there and inhaled more cigarette smoke than I had in years.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago