Day 21 - Resen to Ohrid: Beautiful winter day - No More Taxi Drivers - CycleBlaze

February 5, 2015

Day 21 - Resen to Ohrid: Beautiful winter day

The sun was out this morning, a bit of hazy cloud, but nothing falling from the sky. My hosts said the road was no good for a bike. I said it would be fine.

I was right.

And it was a very enjoyable winter ride, the villages looking picturesque in the fresh snow, the sun warm on my face, a cool breeze, maybe even a tailwind part of the way! There was that little matter of the mountain pass and no good places to stop for breaks because of all the snow, and the pavement on the uphill side was bumpy. But snip that out and it was a perfect winter day. And the climbing actually wasn't too bad. I was over the pass 15km from Resen, and it was all downhill for the next 15km.

I did get chased by dogs today, but it was half-hearted. Yesterday was the first day since Istanbul that I wasn't chased by dogs at all, so I'm really starting to like this wintry mountain stuff.

The road to Ohrid
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 km (24 miles)
Total: 1,039 km (645 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0