Recap - Oregon Coast to Kentucky WITH NO FLAT TIRES! - CycleBlaze

Recap

I originally put this list on Strava, where I tracked every day's ride using their smartphone app. Not surprisingly, the people that follow me on Strava were mostly interested in the stats (mileage, elevation gain, etc.) I don't think very many of them read any of this journal. People on Strava seemed to be amused by this list, though, so here it is:

Start: Bandon, Oregon, June 10, 2019 

End: Henderson, Kentucky, July 19, 2019 

Miles: 3,245 

Days: 40 (37 days of riding, 3 rest days) 

Average miles per day, including rest days: 81.1 

Average miles per day, NOT including rest days: 87.7 

Flat tires: Zero 

Elevation gain: 125,699 feet 

Number of 100+ mile days: 11

Number of days greater than 99 miles but less than 100 miles: 1 

Weight of bike with everything on it: Approximately 75 lbs 

Number of times I used the heavy tent I was carrying: 2 :( 

Days it snowed: 1 

Coldest temperature while riding: 28°F 

Hottest temperature while riding: Just above 100°F a few times. The last few days of the trip were the hottest and most humid. 

Worst traffic: The Grand Loop Road in Yellowstone National Park 

Highest elevation: Powder River Pass, 9,666 feet 

Grizzlies seen: 1, near the road, several miles outside of Yellowstone 

Craziest descent: Down, down, down to Buffalo, Wyoming, past the most heavily used runaway truck ramp in the world. 

Scariest bridge: The Beardstown Bridge over the Illinois River 

Number of times I attempted to hitchhike: 1. I tried to get a ride over the Beardstown Bridge, but nobody stopped after I stuck out my thumb for several minutes, so I finally rode across. 

My weight at the start of the tour: 194 lbs 

My weight at the end of the tour: 168 lbs 

Meat eaten: None

Grilled cheese sandwiches eaten: Many

Question I was most frequently asked: Variations of "You're by yourself? Aren't you afraid?" 

Kind, helpful people: Many 

Unkind people: Very few

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0