Day Thirty-two: Rest Day in Adel, Iowa - Oregon Coast to Kentucky WITH NO FLAT TIRES! - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2019

Day Thirty-two: Rest Day in Adel, Iowa

I spent this rest day mostly actually resting, although I did do a few chores, made a couple of phone calls, and worked on this journal with my newly-revived laptop.

I also did an early-morning walk around Adel and took a few photos.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltEpic shot of a painted lady butterfly on a purple coneflower!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vanessa_cardui
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff LeeTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

I had breakfast at a little cafe that was also a bookstore, and while I ate my omelette, I looked through a copy of The Lost Continent, by Des Moines native Bill Bryson. I dislike Bryson, although I will grudgingly admit that his most famous book, A Walk in the Woods, is sporadically funny. "The Lost Continent", though is just nasty and dull. Bryson famously left Iowa years ago to live in Europe, and The Lost Continent, portions of which I've hate-read in the past, is a series of unfunny put-downs of middle America.

In the evening I went out for another walk, was surprised to see a Thai restaurant, newly opened since I was last in town in December, and had dinner there.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0