Day Thirty-four: Grinnell, Iowa to Washington, Iowa - Oregon Coast to Kentucky WITH NO FLAT TIRES! - CycleBlaze

July 13, 2019

Day Thirty-four: Grinnell, Iowa to Washington, Iowa

I was slow getting up this morning, after going to bed about four hours later than usual last night. I hadn't tried using the laptop yesterday, and this morning I found that it had stopped working again. Bummer.

I hung out for a while with Kristen, Jeff, and Juniper Rose, then Jeff and I rode downtown to a bakery where I got an extremely greasy, but satisfying, apple fritter.

At Jeff's suggestion, I rode out of town on US-6, which had a rare, for Iowa, paved shoulder, then I turned onto "Old 6", which was nice and quiet.

Heart 2 Comment 0

I stopped in Brooklyn, population 1,468. Brooklyn is apparently known as the "Community of Flags", but I didn't spend much time looking at all the flags on display, and instead devoted my attention to a second breakfast at the Casey's. This was one of the newer Casey's with tables to sit at, so I spent some time there studying my Iowa Bicycle Map, trying to work out a route for the day.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

For the first time on this trip I rode away without putting my helmet on, and had to ride a few hundred feet back to Casey's to retrieve it. I dislike wearing a helmet, but I love the helmet-mounted mirror. I don't think I could ride a bike without that mirror. Sometimes at the end of a day of riding, when I'm walking down a street, I forget and look to my left to check the mirror. Heh.

It was hot, and the scenery was not very inspiring today. I crossed over I-80. I believe this was the first time I was south of I-80 on this trip, although I'm too lazy as I write this, days later, to go back and check.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I arrived in Deep River, population 279, just as some sort of event was ending. "You could have been in the parade!" a man told me as I rode up. I asked him if there was a store where I could buy cold drinks, and received the expected negative answer (because every establishment I saw in Deep River looked long-closed.) But he welcomed me into the American Legion building and gave me a bottle of ice-cold water.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I somehow briefly became lost as I left tiny Deep River. A woman was attempting to get her unruly family to cooperate in the taking of a photo ("Dammit, I want to send this to Grandpa!"), and a couple of boys probably further angered her by leaving the group to give me directions out of town.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was so hot now. I arrived in Millersburg, population 153, to find that the Home Town Cafe, a bar and grill, was open. I went inside the cool place for an extended stay. There wasn't a grilled cheese sandwich on the menu, but they made one for me anyway.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I forced myself back out into the heat, and rode south, then east. The roads were reasonably quiet, but there was no shade at all, and the sun beat down.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

North English, population 1,041, seemed deserted. I imagine that everyone was wisely inside an air-conditioned space. They certainly were not outside riding a bicycle in the midday heat.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I went into the EV Malt Shop and ordered a banana milkshake, which was so, so good that I briefly considered ordering a second one. 

I sat in the cool malt shop for a while and studied my map. I decided to end the day in the larger town of Washington, which had a couple of motels, one of which was directly off a bike path that led into town.

I got back on the bike and into the heat and left North English.

The rest of the day went slowly. I didn't see anyone, or anything memorable.

Heart 1 Comment 0

The bike path into Washington, population 7,266, was unpaved, and poorly maintained. Not for the first time, I was happy to be riding a mountain bike on this tour, instead of a bike with skinny tires.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I checked into the motel, which was reasonably priced, and decided I didn't feel like going into town for food, nor ordering a pizza, so, in what has become a sort-of-sad routine on this tour, I ate some snacks I was carrying with me and went to bed.

Today's ride: 90 miles (145 km)
Total: 2,710 miles (4,361 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0