Making it to Budapest: Domsod - Budapest - Say hi to the elephants, and hope the weather improves - CycleBlaze

September 27, 2012

Making it to Budapest: Domsod - Budapest

Budapest greets me welcome
Heart 0 Comment 0

TODAY WAS COMPLICATED but surprisingly straightforward. I lost the EV6 and got into one of those anonymous areas that surround all cities, satellite suburbs that have names nobody knows and an identity only locals recognise.

I began navigating by the sun. It was morning, so if the sun shone on my right then I must be riding north. I kept that in mind as I passed through small suburban woods and on to busier roads. And when I asked a plasterer working on a house renovation, he replied not only in faultless English but gave me a bikie route into the city.

"Just ride as far as the railway, turn right and carry on until you see signs for Budapest," he said. "You've got about 20km to go."

"And that'll work out on a bike?"

"You'll be fine."

Time for a coffee, I think, before finding a hostel
Heart 0 Comment 0

And I was. The man knew his stuff so well that I wondered if he wasn't a cyclist himself. I got ever close to the city without encountering worse than suburban traffic. And when I did get to the main highway, there was a perfect bike path all the way to the river through the heart of the city.

I am staying at the Elizabeth Bridge hostel, just into the city from the bridge and a place I recommend. It's in an atmospheric courtyard, it's new and clean and tonight I am the only one there. Tomorrow I fancy taking a walking tour of the city's communist era. I'll report back.

The excellent Elizabeth Bridge hostel, much recommended, is on the third floor of this courtyard. But there's a lift for your bike and bags
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0