Holing up for the duration: Vevi - Florina - Say hi to the elephants, and hope the weather improves - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2012

Holing up for the duration: Vevi - Florina

"For the duration": For the six years of the second world war, pronouncements of new restrictions in Britain were always qualified as being "for the duration of hostilities." Since the hostilities went on and on, the phrase came to mean "without end." I was born after the war but I remember my parents and boyhood neighbours still used it.

THAT SLEEP was wonderful. But I still hadn't eaten and there was no prospect of riding the hills to last night's intended destination of Edessa. Steph is feeling pretty much better but I need food and rest. My innards are like a brooding Vesuvius.

We rode back the way we had come and then forked to Florina, the only town in these parts.

It was only when we turned back that we noticed "FYROM". It's how Greece avoids confusion between the country and Greek region which share (no, dispute) the name. (Former Yugoslavian Republic Of Macedonia)
Heart 0 Comment 0

The ride was as flat as any road outside a salt marsh is likely to be and I could do no more than let the weight of my legs turn the pedals.

We found a hotel soon after 10 and signed off for the duration.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0