Brute force uber alles: Mathausen - Passau (Germany) - Say hi to the elephants, and hope the weather improves - CycleBlaze

October 5, 2012

Brute force uber alles: Mathausen - Passau (Germany)

Linz proves that the Danube isn't unalloyed beauty. Hitler was born there. No wonder he was so often in a bad mood
Heart 0 Comment 0

PROCRASTINATION is easy. I have that talent. All this meant I got off to a later start. I had more than 130km to Passau and no encouraging tailwind. There was the compensation of more beautiful villages, of course, and soft, scented rides through woods.

Just another bike path, yawn, yawn...
Heart 0 Comment 0

But it was still a decent ride in a couple of hours less than I'd normally give it and darkness had fallen as I rode into Passau.

Yet another sticky-bun pause along the way. Who could resist?
Heart 0 Comment 0

.

What the world needs is more big whirly things on village greens
Heart 0 Comment 0

I walked over the bridge, not because of the traffic - although there was a well-respected bike lane - but for

Dusk falls on the Austrian border
Heart 0 Comment 0

the pleasure of stretching my legs and admiring the solid, pastel-coloured merchants' houses that lined the water in the light of early evening.

I'll have a day off here, I think. Long weeks on flat roads have taken their material toll and a decent stretch without a break has taken a mental one. I am in Germany, by a few hundred metres, and that is achievement enough for a moment.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0