How Shall I Continue? - Mr. Nice Guy Goes Bad - CycleBlaze

How Shall I Continue?

With a Bunch of Reasons NOT to Read My Journal, Which, Through the Sneaky Use of Reverse-Psychology, Might Entice You to Read it Anyway

(I assume you have read the previous page and, for some reason, you still decided to read this one.  I thank you for your interest in my project.)

There you go!  Against all disbelief, I am going to ride my bike in western North and South Dakota and some of eastern Montana and Wyoming.  I'll be visiting some interesting places and some surprisingly nice scenery.  If you don't believe me, you have no obligation to continue reading my journal.

In addition--and I ALWAYS disclose this--I will have nothing to offer in terms of the best tires, saddles, cameras, computers, or pedals to use on a bike tour.  Not much info on roads, restaurants or motels either.  No history.  No philosophical insights.  If you DO believe me on these points, you have no obligation to continue reading my journal.

Unlike last year, I have placed no restrictions on myself in regard to complaining.  In general, I very much prefer to find the FUN in everything I do, but there could be a few complaints on these pages--perhaps even an expletive-laden tirade or two--but I will try to keep that to a minimum.  If you hate complainers, or if you were planning to read my words to your young children, you have no obligation to continue reading my journal.

If, like legions of others, you disliked all of my other journals, you have no obligation to continue reading my journal.

However, I think it's only fair to advise that if you continue reading, despite all of the above warnings, you will be required to read the entire journal to the bitter end.  There will be no quitting after a few pages.  You will not be permitted to check in part way through the tour to see what I have to say about a certain area of the Great Plains and then leave.  And you definitely cannot look at the table of contents just to pick and choose which pages you want to read, nor will you be allowed to skip ahead to the grand, sweeping conclusion at the end.  You absolutely MUST read the whole thing because that's how I INTEND it to be read.  Got it?

I'm not quite sure how I'm going to enforce this rigid requirement as I'm sure the developer of this website will not be able to help me in this regard.  But I KNOW people.  One of them is an attorney who, for the right price, would probably be more than happy to file a lawsuit against anybody who quits reading after a few days of my goofiness.  I also have a friend who once applied to become an FBI agent.  He was rejected for reasons I can't get into here, but I'm sure he still has some connections within the Bureau who could make life difficult for people who think it's OK to violate my terms of readership.

According to the small print, Sieben-Polk is a law firm that specializes in protecting the rights of journal writers.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Even if neither Sieben nor Polk are willing to take my case, I'm pretty sure I can prevail in court acting as my own attorney. I took a constitutional law class in college, so I know my rights!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0