Thursday, Day Four - The Big New Jersey O - CycleBlaze

May 12, 2022

Thursday, Day Four

Philadelphia to Brick Township, NJ

   I got out of the hotel and on the road by 8:30. The ride over the Ben Franklin Bridge was pretty spectacular, Camden, less so. The Adventure Cycling route seemed to take me out of the city pretty quickly, mainly through park paths.

Heart 1 Comment 0

A little past Cherry Hill, NJ, I picked up Route 70 and pedaled that for almost 50 miles. It was a two-lane highway with a 12-foot shoulder, little rollers and very few amenities. I had miles and miles of pine barrens. At times there were parallel fire roads that I tried to ride. They were fine if the surface was hard, but if the surface was broken up, it was soft sand that my inch-and-a-half tires couldn’t manage. So, I stuck with the asphalt of 70.

Signs like this mocked my slow progress
Heart 0 Comment 0

 It was a cloudy day with a head wind that seemed to increase the closer I got to the coast. 70 was fine for many miles, although tiring. After Lakewood and closer to Brick, 70 became much busier with frequent entrances, exits, turning lanes and disappearing shoulders. It was a little harrowing as I approached Brick.

  My friends Kevin and Nancy live in the town of Herbertsville in north Brick township. They hooked me up with a hot shower, great meal, comfy bed and great conversation. Nothing beats old friends. 70 miles for the day, I was beat.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0