Friday, Day Five - The Big New Jersey O - CycleBlaze

May 13, 2022

Friday, Day Five

Brick Township to NYC

  Kev and Nancy boosted me with coffee and high-carb muffins. With 30 miles to the ferry, the morning was cool and foggy. It remained that way all day, with the occasional drizzle. I was pretty beat up from yesterday's 70 miles–achy knees, stiff neck and saddle sore. Thirty miles to the ferry was doable even with my 9 am start. The Jersey coast is pretty remarkable from a bike seat. The variety of housing is an Architectural Digest of American seaside living. In some places, it is still being built.

  The Adventure Cycling route followed the coast. I occasionally rode the boardwalk and was only admonished once. Not a beach day and fairly empty, it will be a completely different scene in a couple of weeks.

Heart 0 Comment 0

  I was about 3 miles from the 12:20 ferry in Highland when I got a flat. I changed it fairly quickly but the window had closed. I had to wait for the next ferry at 3:45. I treated myself to a nice lunch at Behr's. Donna. the waitress hooked me up with a huge slab of carrot cake.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode to the ferry terminal and worked on this epic. The 3:45 ferry had more stops than the 12:20 I missed. The ferry is a great approach to NYC. I arrived in lower Manhattan at 5:30 and worked my way back to Brooklyn.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0