Day 16 - ending at Bridgeport, NE - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 20, 2019

Day 16 - ending at Bridgeport, NE

A train whistle woke me this morning at 6:20am. The night had been the perfect temperature for being in a tent. After sleeping on it, I decided that I needed to get that solid-fill tire off the rear wheel. With the bike upside-down, I saw that the front tire was flat. I'd pulled one goathead thorn out of the front tire last night. That was probably the cause. 

First the back tire. I needed a screwdriver to get it off the rim. What went back on was the Giant brand tire and my last new tube. I patched the one hole in the front tube, and put that back together. That should at least get me to the bike shop.

I was packed, loaded, and on my way at 9:50am. Google Maps indicated a restaurant near the bike shop, so I headed there first. At 10:13am I was at Shari's Cafe and Pies. I figured I'd better get steak and eggs. Along with everything else that came with that, I was full. Before I left I washed my eyeglasses in the bathroom sink. Now I can see!

Sonny's Bike and Fitness was just a few blocks south of the cafe, and I was there in a few minutes. I was hoping for a 26 x 1.75 but settled for a 26 x 1.95 Kenda. Also picked up two new tubes. Ready to leave at 11:36am. South on nearby 21st Avenue was the way to get me back on route. I was there (at NE-92) ready to head east, right at noon. So far today: 6.7 miles.

Today happened to be a short mileage day (35), and that was good. I was heading to Bridgeport State Recreation Area. The forecast indicated east wind, but I hadn't expected it to be this strong! Six miles per hour was about all I could do on this perfectly flat, smooth shoulder.

I passed by the very small towns of Melbeta (at 1:05pm) and McGrew (at 2:13pm). At 2:57pm I stopped for a picture, and had a prairie dog barking at me. The first one I've seen! The reason for stopping for pictures was because Chimney Rock was in view to my right. I had planned to check out the visitor center down the road, but a storm was developing behind me, and I didn't want to make this day any harder than it already was. I did stop at 3:10pm at the Chimney Rock Historical Marker, which is along the highway. 

Just before 4:10pm I started on the first "gentle-rise" hill of the day. A minivan pulled up and stopped in front of me. The driver offered me a ride to Bridgeport, which was now about eight miles away. I assured her I would make it there OK, and thanked her. She said there were more hills ahead. All the hills were the gentle-rise kind, and were of no significance compared to the wind. Halfway up one of those hills I took a break, since the view was grand.

At 5:18pm I took a quick picture of the Camp Clarke Bridge Historical Marker, then rechecked the weather radar and searched to see if Bridgeport has motels. They do! I'm changing from tent to motel for tonight!

At 5:45pm I passed the Bridgeport city limits sign and headed into town, turning north at US-385. The Meadowlark Inn is just north of the North Platte River, and I was there at 6:00pm. After checking in (room #9), I headed back south for supper at the Karette Drive-In. A double hamburger with onion rings and root beer was the meal, with a root beer float for dessert. 

Back at the motel at 7:30pm for a shower and report-writing. The storm seems to have stalled west of here, but it's still nice to be inside, all cleaned up, and have electricity.

I'm pleased with today's performance of the Giant brand rear tire. Maybe it will work out OK.

Jeff

Spent: $19.12 plus $4 (breakfast) + $33.19 (tire + credit card fee) + $53.66 plus $5 (motel) + $11.02 plus $1 (supper) = $126.99.

Day 16 - Scottsbluff, NE to Bridgeport, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
+ seen on my way to breakfast - a 1961 Chevy C10 Fleetside +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 582 miles (937 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0