Back on the Open Road - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

Back on the Open Road

Being that it is ten years since I took off on my first tour, and this will be my tenth tour, I decided to use my first touring bike - my Montgomery Ward Open Road on this so-to-speak anniversary tour.  Hopefully, I haven't been completely spoiled by my multi-geared bikes.

Getting this bike - which saw its last trip in 2011 - back in touring condition took more work than I'd anticipated, and I didn't get started with that until July.  The spokes were ridiculously loose, and the seat was ridiculously low.  I rode it 2400 miles like this?!  I ordered a new longer seat post (marked 22.2mm diameter), but it didn't fit - it was just a little too big.  More careful measurement of the old seat post indicated I needed 0.840-inch (21.34mm) diameter.  I couldn't find any long seat posts for sale with that diameter, but did happen to read that 0.840-inch is the outer diameter of ½-inch pipe.  I had a length of ½-inch pipe, and it fit perfect!  July 6 was spent cleaning and regreasing bearings, and the wiring was upgraded (added a bottle dynamo) on July 13.  Other new items are a longer stem (Sunlite Quill 10" long x 21.1mm diameter), tires (Continental Contact 26 x 1.75 [47-559]), chain (KMC Z510HX), and pedals (Redline ½-inch Nylon Platform).  The bike is ready, but I can't figure out why it still weighs 48.5 pounds. 

seat posts - the shiny one doesn't fit
Heart 1 Comment 0
Open Road ready - July 23, 2019
Heart 2 Comment 0

My only "training" for this trip was a day's ride earlier this year, and it wasn't even on this bike.  I had the privilege of riding part of a day with a French bicyclist who was touring across the US, east to west.  Pierre kept a daily journal on Facebook at Transamerica Vélo, and I'm part of his May 14 entry.  That was 43 miles for me (Morton to Hanna City to Pekin, Illinois) and 58 miles for Pierre (Morton to Avon, Illinois).  Definitely a fun day for me!

Pierre-François Dupond in East Peoria, Illinois - May 14, 2019
Heart 0 Comment 0
outside the Hog Trof, where Pierre bought me lunch - Hanna City, Illinois
Heart 1 Comment 0

Pierre successfully completed his trip and is back home.  I hope to report the same by Labor Day.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keith KleinBravo Jeff. You are doing well to tour in flat country with such a heavy and under-geared (not to mention under-braked) ride. I wouldn’t want to try that bike in anything resembling mountains. But I hope you have fun, just the same. No tornadoes or hail storms, and lots of tail winds.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelKeith,
Thanks for all the good wishes!
This bike rolls great on flat roads, but already these Nebraska roads are work. Still fun, of course.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago