Yaak-Bonner's Ferry, ID: Such beautiful country, all covered in rain clouds. - Near Paradise after 30 years of marriage - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2016

Yaak-Bonner's Ferry, ID: Such beautiful country, all covered in rain clouds.

I keep telling myself to be happy with our overnight at the Yaak River Lodge - $30. each includes breakfast. Where do you find a deal like that? The Lodge was very attractive inside if you are into stuffed animals. I should have counted them all. At least 20? Lots of wood and rock, very country chic. The place was huge. We were the only guests except for two motorcycle riders.

They had rooms with private baths for $149. Or the bunk area upstairs for $30. a bed. Bathroom is downstairs. The upstairs didn't have a window or a fan of any sort. It got pretty stuffy at night. Between that and the guys snoring, I didn't sleep well. Their wi-fi was horrible. Even when sitting right next to the repeater, it didn't work. Listen to me whine about a $30. bed. I shouldn't mention the sausage was undercooked in the morning? For $30.? OK. Enough whining.

Wait - I have to whine about losing my winter glove. It was in my helmet on the side of the fireplace. I am quite sure. Jacinto is quite sure as I held up my gloves (plural) while asking him if he had his winter gloves. When I went to put them on, I had only one glove. I spent considerable time trying to find it. I went upstairs a couple of times. Jacinto went upstairs. Looked all around. Unpacked my bags.

Meanwhile, Oren was outside in the rain waiting. I did have my pogies and regular long fingered gloves. I should be fine. But those were brand new gloves. Darn.

The forecast was rain, rain, and more rain. It wasn't going to get better later in the day. Just suck it up and go. The motorcycle riders weren't sucking it up - they were staying one more day.

Even Jacinto was up and ready to go. Jacinto said he'd be right along after he used the rest room.

Today was our pay back day for the hard day yesterday. It's a very good thing we got the rain today. Yesterday was enough of a challenge with the big climb. Imagine doing that in the rain? Yes, better to have the rain today. The low clouds were covering the nice scenery. The motorcycle riders said to be sure and see Yaak Falls.

Oren was very nicely holding up to stay within sight distance of me. The sign for Yaak Falls was on a downhill, right as a semi passed me. Oren hadn't stopped. I would have had to come to a complete stop to wait for the semi. Did I? Nope . . . I kept going. The rain was extra strong at the moment and I didn't need to see more water. Jacinto did stop. He was surprised I didn't. The falls were right there.

For such a crummy weather day, it went well. There was NO traffic to speak of on the Yaak Road. Very pretty, if cloudy. I wasn't too cold. All of my wet weather gear seemed to be working fine. The forecast had been for 38 degrees in the morning, but it was 54. That's a positive.

We have been stopping roughly every hour for a break. The past few days, Oren has made sure to eat about every hour. Today we were all about taking advantage of the downhill and getting out of the rain. The rain was mostly a constant sprinkle, every once in a while it would be heavy. Mostly it was a long soaking rain that made farmers happy.

I kept thinking Jacinto would be showing up, but I hadn't seen him. I hadn't been stopping and hadn't taken any photos, but finally pulled the phone out and took two.

28 miles later we got to the intersection of Highway 2. I hoped this wasn't as busy as 93. No - pretty good. An average amount of traffic. It was all considerate. Some logging trucks, but no more doubles. This is fine. I'm all about ticking the miles off and getting dry. I'd pulled my hands out of the pogies for different reasons, now my gloves were wet. The fabric the pogies were made out of weren't up to the challenge of all day rain. Good news, the Craft brand tights were holding up just fine. I had debated bringing them, or just the leggings. I'm very happy to have the waterproof tights. If I don't wear them again the rest of the trip, they were worth their weight. I would be very happy to not wear them the rest of the trip!

I was quite happy with the little waterproof bag I had made for my phone. I pulled it out a couple of times for photos, but mostly left it safely in it's bag. I had a bluetooth, waterproof Bullet speaker. I felt smug about my ability to have music in the rain. Maybe I should start dancing instead of cycling?

We were moving along. Oren outpaced me and I didn't see him again. The thing about wearing tights, is they are tight. When you have on wet tights and cold legs, and wet, cold fingers to pull up the tight tights . . . it doesn't work so well. I had made only one bush stop all day. I was wanting to stop again, but . . . . surely I could wait until town? My preference is to get a room on the far side of town so I don't have to fight commuter traffic out of town in the morning. This time I'm a little sad about having to ride the extra five miles through town.

Things were busy as I approached Bonners Ferry. There was a big bridge - but look! A bicycle/walking piece. I ended up staying on the sidewalk, Highway 2 looked pretty narrow for the traffic. There has seldom been a better placed visitor's center. I pull right in. Take my phone out of the holder. Look at email, etc. Definitely look at the map. Sigh. All of town to go. Busy Highway 2. As a plus, the rain has finally, finally quit. For this instant, at least.

Wait - now my music isn't working. What's with that? Oh, well. I want to get out of these clothes.

I stayed on the sidewalk until it disappeared. Wow - this is tight. There is a center lane, but it is only wide enough for a Smart car. It's just wide enough for vehicles to get around me. Which they all do, politely. Thank you, thank you.

Since my phone wasn't working, Bertha wasn't talking to me. Damn. But I knew the Carriage House Inn was right across from Safeway.

I pulled in to the parking lot. A man in a bright orange Patagonia jacket was standing waiting for me. "Are you Kelly." "Uh, yes . . . ?" It turns out this was Richard Smeltzer, a fellow CG, who had been following my journal. He and Kelly are on a six month long meandering tour of the USA. Woozer! See the photo linked below.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto is getting better at selfies. Yaak Falls in the background.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto was brave enough to stop on the bridge to get a photo of the Moyie River. It is WAY down there!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto ordered the five pound hamburger for dinner! All of that downhill made him hungry. Just joking, four of us shared the burger and trimmings.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The chef personally brought out the burger and fries. He did an excellent job cooking such a large piece of meat. It was juicy, but didn't have any red. The restaurant is right next door to the Carriage House Inn.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dinner with Richard and Kelly.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 295 miles (475 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0