Swan Lake - Seeley Lake, MT - Near Paradise after 30 years of marriage - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2016

Swan Lake - Seeley Lake, MT

It rained like crazy last night with rain bouncing off of the metal roof of the lodge. Jacinto even took a video. We agreed we were happy not to be camping. I do enjoying being snug in a non leaking tent during the rain. The forecast for today was 0% chance of rain. It was cool and when we got up this morning. You haven't heard me complain any about the heat, but it has been up into the 80's the past few days. That's a heatwave compared to seeing our breath on the Icefields Parkway.

Breakfast was served 8-9 AM - there was no use getting up early. Coffee was set out in the yard at 7:30 with some scones to tide people over. Our breakfast was small and fancy - a quarter of a piece of ham with an egg roll size cheese blintz on top. The guys weren't impressed. I went back to the room and had oatmeal. When cycling, we are more into quantity than quality . . .

Jacinto and I had looked over my leaky tire last night. I ran water in the sink and looked at the tube. He looked at the tube. We both went round and round on the tire. I was quite sure I had found the source of the last flat, a little piece of green glass. Neither of us found a problem this time. We reinstalled the same tube in the tire. Perhaps the valve stem hadn't been closed all the way or had a little piece of dirt keeping it open? Oren wasn't impressed with our reinstalling the same tube and declared he would stay with me today in case of mechanical issues. Yay! I followed Oren for five weeks this trip - it's a comfortable place to be.

Off we went in the cool morning air. Oren wasn't trusting of the forecast and had his rain cover over his rack bag and had his jacket on. 55 miles today. I said it was mostly flat, but Oren said the summit was at mile 30. (Later verified by Summit Lake). There were lots and lots of little rolling hills that took plenty of energy with no ultimate altitude gain.

We were away from Swan Lake now, although we saw plenty of swan named roads and lots of swan designs on mail boxes. The scenery was tall pine trees close in on both sides for miles and miles. It reminded me of riding to Diamond Lake from La Pine, Oregon. Occasionally the view would open up.

We saw a man carving trees live in his workshop with items to sell. I wish we had stopped - but what could I have taken with me?

Near there was a giant, giant American flag on a barn. I told Oren that was the one photo he needed to take for me for the day. It was great. I hope - I haven't seen it yet.

At Condon there should have been a general store and gas station, but it burned down in May. We could see the rubble where they were working on cleaning things up. That is a real problem for the locals as it was the only gas station for miles.

At the Holland Creek turn out we saw two fat tire bikes turn in front of us. Phil and Tracy from Tulsa, Oklahoma had started at Rexford and were going as far as they could in five weeks. Hopefully to Colorado. They had been to the not burned down store for supplies, but did not need bacon or beer. They had plenty of peanut butter and pronounced themselves good to go. Phil said the clouds were a welcome relief from the heat. We are still happy it is warm!

During the day today we saw a group of two couples, fully self contained. One man pulling a BOB trailer. Another couple, fully self contained. One single man, just departing Seeley Lake as we arrived. Being close to Missoula is a cyclist highway! Definitely this route is better than taking 35 through Ronan. No wonder we didn't see anyone on that road.

I had dropped behind when I was talking with Phil. Oren waited for me a bit down the road and checked my tires. They are still holding air. We wondered where Jacinto was and if he had taken photos of the barn with the giant flag. Oren and I both bet that Jacinto would take a photo because he would know that's a scene I enjoy. There have been plenty of beers bet back and forth this trip. I'm not sure what the final count is. Jacinto did buy a six pack of beer in Canmore and drank all of them himself except one. Jacinto declared himself all paid up on beers, even if Oren didn't drink the ones he should have.

I was ready for town because I was hungry. I had Spiz and assorted snacks but I wanted food. I asked Oren if he wanted to go straight to a restaurant. Oren had purchased food in Big Fork, just in case there wasn't dinner last night. He was good for lunch with a prepackaged sandwich and even had one of his favorite desserts - a prepackaged carrot cake.

Who appeared in my rear view mirror but Jacinto! I greeted him by announcing "I'M HUNGRY" - I gave Jacinto the direction of sprinting to town and buying chips and salsa and whatever looked good for a snack. Off he went. It was only five miles to town, I was counting down the mile markers to town. How convenient to know exactly how many miles to town.

We were at the Seeley Lake Motor Lodge, one of the first places in town. Oren had already checked in. When I went inside, there was a line of people waiting to check in. That gave me time to look around and see there was free water, fruit, and prepackaged snacks. How nice. I ate a banana while I waited. That took the edge off of my hunger.

We were in #6. Wifi instructions were to connect and the office and then walk slowly back to the room and see if it still works. How exciting. Instead, I got the computer right out and sat at the office while I waited for Jacinto and my snack.

Jacinto came back with a chicken strip dinner from a restaurant. He said the store was on the far end of town. Instead he went to the restaurant. I was very happy with chicken strips. We ate them sitting outside. All of the rooms have nice table type seats outside with a table between two seats.

Our room is a bit small, I have both bikes squashed inside. Since we are on the main drag and it's pretty busy, I didn't want to leave them outside. Sometimes we leave them out until we are ready for bed, then bring them in.

Originally we were supposed to walk to the steak house for dinner. Now I am looking at the BBQ place right across the street. Let's see what happens.

I"m waiting for photos from Oren and Jacinto.

Most of the day was spent cycling through a tunnel of tall pine trees. Every once in a while the view opened up.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oren so kindly gave us this can of pork and beans that he personally carried all the way from Big Fork. If you remember, I had a can of Stagg's Chili for my birthday. Now I get pork and beans for my anniversary?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto stopped at the general store for V-8 and a Starbucks drink.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The one photo request I made of Oren today. Jacinto didn't even see the flag painted barn. He did see the man carving tree stumps.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 1,657 miles (2,667 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0