Shushwap Hostel - Barriere, BC: Take what non cyclists say with a grain of salt. - Near Paradise after 30 years of marriage - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2016

Shushwap Hostel - Barriere, BC: Take what non cyclists say with a grain of salt.

I didn't sleep much last night for worrying about logging trucks. Between the lady at the hostel and the Subway guy, my great find of the Adams Lake Forest Road didn't sound like such a good idea. But we were committed. Oren was less than happy, he wanted to take the woman's suggestion of going down to Kamloops and back up to Barriere. That would take another day that we don't have. This road is 44 miles and 3,300 feet of climbing. It is totally within our abilities. Yes, it has ten miles of dirt, but it is a very nice road.

At 8 AM, as per Hermann's suggestion, I called the lumber yard and asked Ryan what three cyclists could expect. Ryan was very friendly. He said they had been 40-60 trucks on the road during the entire day, which ended at 4 PM. The logging truck drivers are required to radio in every kilometer going each direction. The drivers would keep each other posted as to our location. He did not say our lives were in danger, his drivers hated cyclists, etc. I felt very comfortable after talking to him and rechecking crazy guy for references on Adams Lake Road.

Oren and I had agreed on a 9 AM depart based on the rain forecast and the fact we had a short day. Oren did a very good job staying in bed until 6 AM(remember we had rented a whole caboose for the three of us - dorm style). I hadn't slept well for worrying about the trucks. Plus, I had asked Oren why he was sleeping on a top bunk when there were plenty of bottom bunks. His reply of being up away from vermin and snakes must have stuck with me. In the wee hours of the morning I startled awake, sure that a mouse had bitten my finger. I had no wound or soreness, but I was sure a mouse had bitten me. I moved over to Jacinto's twin bed and squashed in. Surely mice like Mexican food better than American food?

It is not my routine to have so much time in the morning. Usually we get up and get going. I even had time to go back to the office and check the weather again and my email. Blair from the hostel said I should be paying for an extra day of internet, because it was a new day, but she wouldn't charge me because of the dirty beds.

Jacinto had signed up for the $5.50 breakfast pancakes. Oren and I had originally planned to get going. He ate a couple of pastries and his favorite bottled Starbucks. I had oatmeal and a banana.

It was very, very wet - but hadn't rained since we got up at 6, we were out the door before 9. The forecast looked better for Squilax (no rain chance of rain for several hours). Now Barriere had a greater chance of rain in the afternoon. Oh, well. We were off.

It was a lefthand turn to go right over the bridge just past the hostel. AT that intersection was a convenience store and what appeared to be an attached motel, although there was no motel sign. Perhaps it was apartments for the logging workers?

Bertha was working today - she told me two more miles to Holding Road. Oren and I took a left. Jacinto had said he would be along soon. I kept looking for him. Just as we reached the turn for the forest road (dirt), there he was in my mirror. The beginning of the road looked very sloppy and took a direct turn up. Oh, boy. It might be an interesting morning.

We stopped at the top of the big climb. Everything was going fine, I told Jacinto to go ahead and ride his ride, we were good. There was zero traffic so far. I was roasting from wearing the heavy weight water proof tights in anticipation of a bad weather day. I hid behind a not very big sign, stripped the tights off and pulled on my regular bike shorts. I ate some snacks and was ready for the climb.

Jacinto was in sight for quite some time. The dirt was surface was very even and well packed. I was able to look around at the view of Adams Lake and the mountains. What an excellent routing choice! I was happy we didn't listen to Blair.

I had been so busy thinking about logging trucks, I hadn't really checked out the profile for the day. We had some stiff climbing at the beginning of the dirt. Very stiff climbing, think about walking type of climbing. Luckily that was a short distance. I did not walk. I was extra, extra happy that it wasn't raining. If we could get through the dirt part without it raining, I would be satisfied.

I stopped for a couple of photos and got behind. Around a few bends, Oren was stopped. He had spooked a mama bear and two cubs. I should be careful. Animals can hear me coming, I'm playing music. I continued on. I saw one cute little cub in the tree, but didn't see mama or the sibling. I wanted to take a photo of the cute guy, but wisdom prevailed.

Overall on the ten mile dirt section, we had perhaps two logging trucks each direction and a handful of cars. Maybe every 10-15 minutes a vehicle would pass. The road was nice and wide except for one area. If you are in the area, this is a great respite from the traffic.

At mile 20 we came to Agate Bay Road. It is paved. Good bye nice, quiet dirt road. It has been fun. I was starting to hope we might make it all the way to town without getting wet. Looking toward the lake, the clouds were breaking up and there was actually sunshine. Looking forward, where we are going, there was a big, black cloud. Darn.

I finished the last of my nuts and tried to pedal as fast as possible while not using all of my energy. Agate Bay Road is also scenic. Big mountains on both sides, some hay fields and one herd of cows. I could get used to this! The road surface was bumpy and patched. The road curved up and down. We weren't finished climbing yet.

Oren was stopped putting on his rain coat. No, I'm not going to do that. I'm not. Then reality sunk in. Yes, I'm putting on the rain coat. I didn't even have it out before rain was POURING down. Where did that come from all the sudden? We agreed there was a possibility we could ride out of it. 15 miles to town. Oren took off and I didn't see him again. The rain came and went, it wasn't ever terrible and I was warm enough to not be uncomfortable. It had been a good day, even with the rain.

At mile 40 there was a 10% downhill sign. Right where a logging truck pulling three beds was pulling out. Three! He went first and I could smell his brakes all the way down the delightfully long hill. At the bottom of the hill, there was another triple logging truck. Why were they going opposite directions? How many logging mills are there?

It was dry enough at the intersection of 5 to pull the hood back on my jacket and to take a bush stop. Now I was ready for the final miles to town. Zip, zip. I love downhills to town. It's the payback for all of the hard work.

I saw signs for several motels. None of them ours. A Subway sign. Hmmm, should I stop for a salad? I wasn't starving. Yet. This is a very long, skinny town. Where is our place. Finally, here it is. I see Oren's bike outside. He's checking in. Just as I'm getting organized to check what room we are in, Jacinto yells at me. We are at the far end of the lot. I wonder how good the wifi will be.

It is very nice to be in a regular motel room. Quarters are tight with two beds. For some reason the TV is set up on an entertainment center right in the middle of the room. There went the floor space. Jacinto wheeled my bike in the room. I felt guilty about not wiping it off first, but it had started to rain again.

Jacinto had had a good ride. Jim and Genny were here, next door. But he hadn't seen them yet. I showered. Next was the journal. No internet. Jacinto got his phone to connect by going to the office. I also had to go to the office. I got the computer to connect but not the phone, so no photos until the phone works. I think I have some wonderful photos from the day.

Oren wiles away the evening in the caboose.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Is this a relaxing position, Jacinto?
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were two giant piles of sawdust. According to the sign, this is a pellet factory.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The logging company was conveniently located just down the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I changed from tights to shorts behind this sign. I'm sure it hid everything.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One photo together before Jacinto forges ahead.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Adams Lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The last view of Adams Lake before turning onto Agate Bay Road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The last view of Adams Lake Forest Service Road. It's been good. I would recommend this ride. Don't listen to the naysayers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
On to Barriere.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've seen a number of mailboxes featuring chainsaws.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was worth stopping in the rain for a photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jim has a very heavy bag of Spiz for me. I had used my last serving today and was VERY happy to get my resupply.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We had fun running through several versions of why Jim would be delivering baggies of powder.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 792 miles (1,275 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0