Luxuries and gear experiments. - Near Paradise after 30 years of marriage - CycleBlaze

Luxuries and gear experiments.

We just finished a week long training tour. I have trouble putting in long back to back days at home in preparation for a tour. Taking the week long tour was a chance to decide on gear before committing to using it for this long tour.

One of my luxuries is Spiz Meal Replacement. I tried to do without it last summer, drinking chocolate milk instead. That didn't work. I felt as if I didn't have as much energy during the day and definitely felt I didn't recover as well. I ordered a container mid tour last summer, it chased me around for a couple of weeks before arriving. This summer I am carrying two weeks of Spiz and Jim Fitch so kindly agreed to bring me a five week supply in Canada. I carefully monitored my Spiz consumption this week to gauge my projected use over the big tour. That should be plenty. I hope.

My other luxury is my MacBook Air at 2.98 pounds. Keeping my journal here on CG is a major source of my touring enjoyment. I like writing a live journal (and reading live journals).

I'm willing to travel with the most minimum of clothing to make up for my luxuries.

On the Taos tour, Jacinto decided to bring a real percolator and all of the items needed to make a good cup of joe in the morning. He did sacrifice, leaving the grinder home. The end result after a week was that the weight was not worth the result, he would take his chances on getting good coffee each morning.

He had also taken the BOB trailer. Jacinto likes knowing that everything he carries is in that one bag - somewhere. I got on the BOB website to see what size spare tube we should purchase and noted that the trailer weight was 19 pounds. That's a scary number.

Over dinner while on tour, we discussed the negatives to pulling a trailer. The common opinion was having a third wheel on the ground made riding harder. It definitely was more difficult to get the bike in motel rooms.

Result - I'm keeping my Spiz and computer. Jacinto is ditching the percolator and the BOB.

As far as real gear changes, I documented the backing plates son Luis made on the touring lite page. Those worked well for me. There is some fuss factor to fastening the dry bag lashing points each morning. But the weight savings is worth it. I also like the sleek look of the dry bags in comparison to the puffy rain covers on my panniers. Total weight of the panniers was five pounds. I forgot to weigh the plates before installing, but let's say they weigh a pound total. That would give me a four pound overall weight reduction.

Marty had asked on the last trip what my gear weighs. I loaded up the dry saks with everything, including a pound of trail mix for starting snacks. No water. I included my seat bag. I weighed myself holding the bags, and then not holding the bags. 16 pounds total.

Jacinto weighed his full panniers and his trunk bag. He had 19 pounds total. I have to be honest and say he is carrying two pounds of Spiz for me. What a guy.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto loves his coffee. He tried taking his own percolator last trip, but decided against it this trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Commentary added after one week in New Mexico and two weeks on this trip:

I'd like to comment that my backing plate system is working well. I'm happy with it and would recommend it. I've finally figured out the system to put all 'stuff' in one and all clothing in the other, packed around my computer for extra protection. The weight of the dry sacks are the same, but the bulk of the stuff dry sack is less. The sacks don't look quite as nice loaded up as the lumpy stuff is lumpy. Imagine that? I put anything I think I need in last and that's easy to get to. Purchases can be added in at the last minute. I have yet to need anything at the bottom of a bag, but that would probably require removing it from the rack. I have two 20 liter bags and have loads of extra space. I am using the Sea to Summit Big River dry bags. They have lighter bags, but these are the ones with lashing points. Casual research didn't find other brands with lashing points. I could have gone smaller. But at 6 ounces a bag, is there really a need? An occasionally important down side is not being able to take a to go container with food. Or other delicate/wet food items. I would have carried the carrot cake for Oren, if I had been able.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0