Kootenay Lodge - Radium Hot Springs, BC: Sunshine is a splendid thing. - Near Paradise after 30 years of marriage - CycleBlaze

July 17, 2016

Kootenay Lodge - Radium Hot Springs, BC: Sunshine is a splendid thing.

Our free continental breakfast started at 8 AM. We were there early, ready to go. We weren't in any hurry to finish eating. We were feeling very leisurely with only 40 miles and one pass to climb. Look at how tough we think we are?

It had been raining steadily early this morning. I was resigned to wearing rain tights again. By the time we finished breakfast, the sky was mostly clear. The weather has been an important topic this trip.

I was feeling doubly happy this morning. It was warm enough to leave with shorts and Jacinto was leaving with us. That didn't last long. The four of us fell into our usual pattern and Jacinto was coasting along behind me. Just a few miles down the road, I took pity on him and told him to go ahead, be sure and take photos.

We had a long, very gradual climb today. Jacinto and I were laughingly comparing the climb to Poncha Pass in Colorado. That didn't turn out to be correct. The actual climb was a noticeable up, although I did the entire climb without stopping. I was certainly happy to arrive at the top. There was even a potty. I debated the need to stop, since town was a short seven miles away. I decided to stop anyway. That gave me a chance to put my wind vest on for the downhill.

This is a great downhill going in to Radium Hot Springs. It's similar to the steep drop into Lake City from the Slumgullion Pass, without the sharp corners. Getting closer to town there was a tunnel. The road closed in and traffic increased. Everyone was very polite. I was happy to be going downhill here and not uphill. That wouldn't be very fun with the lack of shoulder and the steep climb.

We cycled through a spectacular cut through the rocks. Jim took a photo. I'm going to link it. The hot springs was outside of town. People were everywhere. This is a busy, busy little tourist town. It appears every other building is a motel with a NO vacancy sign. We are at the Mountain Springs. $98. for a small apartment. It is slightly dated, but very, very clean. The owner gave us rags to clean the bikes and we are storing them in his garage for the night. I would definitely recommend the Mountain Springs Motel.

Our bikes have suffered with all of the rain. I've wiped my chain off almost every night. I've lubed it far more often than usual, going through almost an entire bottle of lube this trip. I saw a couple of spots of what looks like rust on the chain. How does a stainless steel chain get rusty? Even Jacinto was declaring that he hasn't cleaned his chain for three days, it needs done. Chain cleaning is not typically on his radar. That means the situation is dire.

Jacinto and I snacked on some deli ham he had been carrying. The others went to the restaurant next to the motel. It didn't get any stars. I believe we are going to the Horsethief Pub for dinner. At least the name is catchy.

Tomorrow is another short day, to Canal Flats. It has been raining this evening, but we are firm in our conviction that we are over the mountain. No more rain for us. I hope.

The view from the false summit of Sinclair Pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Typical scenery today. We certainly appreciated the blue sky.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
We have a short 40 mile day today over Sinclair Pass. Jacinto is leaving at the same time as the group. This is only the second time he has left with us since the trip start.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is Sergio's photo from my last trip through Radium Hot Springs. We were heading north, climbing the 14% grade. This trip we had a screaming downhill into town.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 1,332 miles (2,144 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0