Jasper - Sunwapta Falls Lodge, AL: It's a bicycle highway! - Near Paradise after 30 years of marriage - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2016

Jasper - Sunwapta Falls Lodge, AL: It's a bicycle highway!

We woke up to steady rain this morning. Damn. The computer says only 15% chance of rain. We are all stoic. We had only 37 miles to ride today, so we weren't in a hurry to leave. We had several servings of the motel breakfast. I like their granola with yogurt and berries on top. Today they didn't have berries. They were serving mini quiches, I ate one and wrapped one up to go.

We agreed on a 10 AM departure, hoping to give the rain a chance to clear. No - no clearing. Not a hint of clearing. Even though we were leaving at Jacinto's usual time, he wasn't ready to leave. The four of us had on full rain gear, ready for the day.

Off we went. We were supposed to take 93A for the scenic route. I saw 93A, but we didn't turn. ??? I suppose there is no use in taking the scenic route, the clouds were so low. We pedaled a few more miles. Then Jim and Genny turned to the Mount Edith Cavell sign. What was the use of going to a view point when we could see nothing? Oren and I continued on.

Traffic was reasonably light on 93. The road was freshly paved with a giant shoulder. Considering we were riding in the rain and couldn't see the stupendous views, it wasn't a bad day.

Did I say it wasn't a bad day? About half way in to the ride, Oren had a flat tire on the front. It was raining lightly, but the shoulder wasn't bad and we were on a straight road so drivers could see us. Oren had to take everything off of the bike and dig to the bottom to get a spare tube. He told me several times to go on, but I know he wouldn't leave me by the side of the road with a flat. Or leave me at all. Last year Oren left me chalk markings to make sure I took the correct turns. This year navigation is mostly simple, but I have gotten fast enough to keep up with Oren. I'm always right on his tail!

We had seen several groups of riders going both directions. Perhaps 20 riders total, all day? There were two groups with SAG vehicles. One group of four with a white van. Two of their riders stopped to check on us and chat while Oren changed his tire. They were from Edmonton, doing a three day trip and staying tonight at Beauty Hostel. The other group was with Rocky Mountain Bicycle Tours and they were staying at our lodging. About half of the riders we saw had panniers and appeared self supporting. All had only two panniers, like us. Other hotel people? Or lightly packed camping?

Jim and Genny also caught up to us while Oren finished changing the tube. Genny said we had really missed out by not taking 93A, it was very deserted, beautiful, and the waterfall was special. She did allow the road surface was bad and she's pretty sure they did more climbing.

The rain was mostly lighter and lighter. My hands were sweaty instead of rainy inside of my Pogies. Should I take them off? No, that would probably cause it to rain again.

We hit a couple of climbs. I got hotter and hotter. I couldn't stand it any more. I took off the Pogies, my coat, and the plastic bags on my feet. Ah! That is much better. The road is getting dry. I still can't see a thing as far as mountains, but it is much nicer to bicycle without a coat, etc.

I thought it was 37 miles today. Jim said it was a 35 mile day and Oren agreed. That's always happy, when the day is shorter than I expected.

I had been watching my elevation gain. Anything we gain today, we don't have to climb tomorrow. Tomorrow is the big day with the climb over Sunwapta. It would be really, really nice to get over Sunwapta without getting wet.

We arrived at the lodge at the same time as most of the other bicycle riders. It was a bit crazy and only Oren's room was ready. He offered to let me and Genny shower in his room. I declined the polite offer. He assured me he would wait outside. That was hardly an issue, being concerned about Oren. Besides that, I suspect he has already accidentally seen my lily white ass at a pee break.

The check in clerk suggested we have lunch while we wait for our rooms. Jim and Genny had soup and a roll for $10.95. I munched on my leftover quiche from the morning. I checked on the room again, no still not ready. Look! Here's Jacinto. We talk about how the day has gone. Jacinto decides to have a coffee. Just as he got his coffee, the clerk came over and let us know our room is ready.

Good. I'm ready for a shower. Wet clothes aren't fun to sit around in.

This is a case of location, location, location. We have a very basic room for $263.CAD. Beauty hostel is down the road. I wonder what they charge.

I can't get photos to load right now, sorry.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Genny and I were the only ones to notice the wild lilies. There were just a few in a small area. Genny's photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 1,069 miles (1,720 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0