Day off - Bonner's Ferry - Near Paradise after 30 years of marriage - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2016

Day off - Bonner's Ferry

Richard and Kelly are off for Libby this morning. We tried to talk them into going to beautiful Yaak. Perhaps we were a little too descriptive of the big climb . . . . they stuck with the Libby destination.
Heart 0 Comment 0

So - I believe I have killed my phone in the rain. My own fault, I deserve it. Why I wasn’t thinking that rain and phones don’t go together . . . .

I’ve been trying the rice trick - 20 hours later I try it - no go, Linnea said to plug the phone in . . . gave that an hour. It does nothing . . .

I could go buy a pay as you go phone that I don’t want and I’m not sure how it would work over the Canadian border anyway. Or I could just buy a replacement. Sprint. Closest place is Spokane or Couer d’Alene. My hot idea was to pay for the phone over the phone and have an Uber driver bring it to me. $56. to Newport (tomorrow’s destination). That is all too easy. They won’t accept phone payments, only Sprint customer care takes phone payments. I spoke with Customer Care - I have to take the phone I order, not one that is in stock at the store. Sigh.

No rental cars here (or Newport), unless I want to rent a UHaul. A taxi is $250. round trip.

So . . . . I’m spending my nice day off being frustrated about the phone. The big one is missing ridewithgps - I was just really getting in to Bertha giving me directions. Jacinto says I can have his phone, but Bertha has been giving him bad directions. I don’t know why - I send the same info to both phones . . . .

Anyway - I don’t know what I’m doing. Their expedited shipping is $14. but it’s three days, which puts us in Canada. There is a postal strike in Canada right now, I don’t know if that would have any bearing on me or not.

It is still cold and windy here today. If the wind blows tomorrow, we will have a headwind. But it’s supposed to be sunny and 80 degrees. I’m hoping those cold weather tights stay in the bag the rest of the trip. Oren is slightly more pessimistic. He is hoping they stay in the bag until Jasper. He thinks once we are there, we will certainly need rain gear . . .

The guys are gone doing laundry. I think they are bored. Laundry is not Jacinto's chore at home, for certain! All clothes in one washer together. I did give instructions as to what items not to put in the dryer.

End of the very long phone saga is we bought a $50 phone at Safeway. It should do music, photos, and ridewithgps. Crossing my fingers.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0