Bonner's Ferry, ID - Newport, WA: Sunshine and blue skies! - Near Paradise after 30 years of marriage - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2016

Bonner's Ferry, ID - Newport, WA: Sunshine and blue skies!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Oren and I have developed the routine of riding together each day. I think I'm a little faster this year, or he's being kind waiting on me. He was outside waiting at our appointed hour, 7 AM. I believe we were both ready to get going after our day off. Bonner's Ferry wasn't terribly exciting. The weather forecast was exciting - sunshine and 80 degrees!

I was optimistic about my Yugo quality phone for what I needed it to do. Jacinto had pointed out last night that ridewithgps started the cue sheet at mile 39 - way after Sandpoint, crossing the bridge, and a couple of turns on the backroad Old Priest River Route. Hmmmm. Maybe Bertha and I have had a short but intense love affair.

Oren was bemoaning the giant climb out of the bowl Bonner's Ferry sat in. It doesn't matter which direction you go, it's going to take a climb to leave town. I was very happy to be climbing away in my middle chain ring. Woohoo! Day off fresh legs can climb anything. Well, let's not get carried away. It wasn't that much of a climb, about 350 feet, according to the Garmin.

The morning was cool, 55 degrees. Perfect for that climb. Oren stayed just ahead of me going down the road. Highway 2 had little traffic this Sunday morning. The decently wide shoulder had an annoyingly placed rumble strip. Why do they do that? Put it right on the white line and be done with it.

My beginning of the day routine starts with breaks about every hour. On our second break, I reminded Oren to eat. No one ever has to remind me to eat! Already? It's time to eat already. Oren gives a heavy sigh. No, that is not a problem I have.

We were traveling through heavily forested woods with occasional views of the river and lakes. Oren says we had a really good tailwind. I like to think that my legs are strong. Whichever it was, we agreed we were moving right along with little effort. Yes!

Sandpoint came up about mile 30. There are a number of bike paths. At first we rode on the highway right next to the bike path. That felt pretty silly and I got on the path. After a bit, Oren joined me, mentioning he hoped that wasn't a mistake. It was real nice, for about a half mile. Then we went down and under the highway. Bertha didn't like that. She beeped at me. It appeared we were going away from the highway, so we asked directions. We were instructed to go back to the top of the hill (of course) and take the path to the left, down to Boyle Street, then follow Boyle to highway 2. Ooookkayy. I'm glad Oren is in charge of navigation. We get back to the top. THEN we notice an entrance between a couple of concrete barriers. Oh. That is SO obvious for out of town cyclists. We then follow the directions and get back on highway 2. Hurmph.

Now we are adjacent to another bike path. Are we interested in getting on it? No. Does it feel silly not to be on it? Yes. Finally I move over. Reluctantly, Oren moved over when he saw a road construction sign ahead, narrowing the highway to one lane our direction. Guess what? As soon as we were both on the path, it went away from the highway. Again we asked for directions. We were instructed to stay straight to Railroad, follow it after it turns to dirt, then take the obvious path over the railroad track, ignoring the No Trespassing sign.

I think we are both done experimenting with bike paths for the day. Highway 2 is mighty fine. All of that detouring slowed down our groove. We got back on the road ready to pedal. I had cleaned my chain of all of the muck from the rainy day. Pedaling felt smooth and silky.

We reached the town of Laclede. Oren stopped at the Conoco for a snack. I bought a V-8 and a Cliff bar. A tasty combination. We sat on a bench outside in the sun. The reader board for the station said 80 degrees. What a welcome change from the rainy Yaak day.

I've noticed ever since we left Missoula that this area of the country has many nice old vehicles on the road. A good looking Ford truck pulled in. I told the woman who got out that she had a mighty nice looking old truck. The man came over to chat. The truck was a 1991, he uses it for firewood and hauling things. He was a mountain biker and asked if we had done assorted routes in the area. He said in the summer and fall there are many cyclists passing through town each day. We haven't seen a single tourist today. We did see any number of people on our little escapade in Sandpoint riding cruiser bikes.

Jacinto had called. My new phone rings. How about that? He was ten miles behind us. Oren and I agreed he would probably catch us before we reached town. Oren pulled away from me. I wasn't too worried about getting to the motel. Newport didn't seem to be very big, it wasn't as busy with traffic as I expected to get to the motel. Oren was just finishing checking in.

I got in the room and did the arriving to town stuff. Jacinto showed up. We puzzled trying to get photos from the new phone to the computer to post. I have emailed them to myself from the phone, but they haven't arrived yet. You get what you pay for with a $50. phone.

Dinner is at the Mexican restaurant across the street. Safeway is 4-5 blocks away. The plan is to walk over for breakfast items after dinner.

Today was a satisfying day. The sun was shining, the road felt easy, scenery was excellent, and the traffic light. It is nice to be on the road again!

We are accidentally doing about 2/3's of the Selkirk loop. Spoon, you and the guys should be riding this next month. It will be easier and more scenic than BAK.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is supposed to be a shot of all of the white daisies. They don't show up too well.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I totally missed seeing this. Jacinto thought it was noteworthy enough to stop. It was one of his four photos today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another of Jacinto's four photos.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I feel a little gross posting this photo. But doesn't it look like something that should be in science class? Where are the predators to disturb the bones? They all appear to be intact.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is the no trespassing area we had to cross to get back to highway 2 from the bike path.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This old school house is over one hundred years old. The actual blocks are in excellent condition. The roof, not so much.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My barn photo for the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We are in northern Idaho - I've seen a number of places advertising open carry classes, firearms for sale, etc. $39. for an open carry class sounds cheap to me.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 356 miles (573 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0