Barriere-Clearwater, BC: Riding the Yellowhead Highway. - Near Paradise after 30 years of marriage - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2016

Barriere-Clearwater, BC: Riding the Yellowhead Highway.

Today was an easy day with low miles and little climbing. If you're going to have a rainy day, this would be a good one. We agreed to a late breakfast at a restaurant. There's no use getting on the road early, we wouldn't be able to check into our room. The idea of waiting for the rain to lessen or stop was hopeless.

We agreed to an 8 AM breakfast at the restaurant next door. At 7:30 Jim knocked on our door saying they had been ready forever, how about let's go eat. That sounds fine, except we were still in bed. Jacinto was very fast to get up at the mention of coffee. I told him to go on over, I'd be there after I showered. Things seem to be a bit slower in Canada. I didn't waste time, but I did shower and still got to the restaurant before they ordered. We waited and waited. It's a good thing today wasn't a big mile day, we wouldn't have been so happy to sit around and chat.

Oren and I were on the road by 9 AM. Jim and Genny were right behind us. Jacinto acted like he was right behind us. It turns out he didn't leave until after 11! I kept my eye open for him for nothing.

I had on my rain tights. We left in light rain. The clouds were down very low. That's too bad. I'm sure this is a pretty area. Traffic was heavy again today. Even though we weren't getting much water from above, we were getting plenty splashed on us as vehicles passed.

37 miles sounds like such an easy day. Perhaps it's more than you want to know, but these tights are difficult to get these tights down and back up again when they are wet. I was hoping to ride the entire distance without a pee stop. I didn't mix up a bottle of Spiz. I'd had a big breakfast, that should hold me for such a fast ride.

Riding wasn't as unpleasant as it sounds. The rain was soft, temperatures weren't too cool. The muck getting splashed on us wasn't so great - but conditions certainly could have been worse.

Jim and Genny stopped and started a couple of times. We played leap frog. The last time they stopped, I didn't say anything or stop. It turns out Jim had a flat from a piece of glass. They weren't in a good spot at all, with concrete barriers on one side and fast traffic on the other. Why not add in rain just for fun?

I had my computer in my pocket. I took it out occasionally to check our progress. We were moving right along. It's easy to feel fast when it's this flat.

I saw a loaded cyclist stopped on the other side of the road. He was dressed all in black except for a safety vest. He looked very loaded. I was on a little downhill and it was raining more heavily. I didn't stop. Jim and Genny did stop. The man was from Quebec and had traveled extensively by bicycle, including from Alaska to Tierra del Fuego. Genny said they talked quite a while.

There was a little patch of blue that got larger and larger. It has totally quit raining about ten miles out of town. I didn't want to jinx us by taking off my coat, but I did take the hood off and unzip the front. I'm living wild!

I caught up to Oren and suggested stopping for a snack at the A & W, we had seen a billboard. I wasn't as fast to suggest the Old Thompson Highway as a optional road into town. We passed it by, but could have gotten off of the highway for five miles.

We were at the Wells Gray Inn at the first intersection of town. Most of town was up the hill. We checked in to our rooms. The nice lady moved Oren so he could get right in. Our rooms faced a locked courtyard. The rooms had sliding doors, so we could keep our bikes on the patio. It's a nice set up except for locking the door to the room and exiting. The sliding doors don't have locks, so we have to go around.

Oren wanted to eat right now, no shower. Just take off the panniers and ride up the hill to A&W. Ok. Just as we were leaving, here came Jim and Genny. They would go with us as soon as they took off their panniers. Finally we were off, up the hill. Ugh. There was a motel at the top of the hill. That would have been a good place to stay. Although our place is nice and the price is good - I'd rather not be facing a climb in the morning. I also like to be next to the grocery store. That's up the hill.

Oren ordered first and had his burger eaten before we sat down. I think he was hungry (for once). I ordered a three piece chicken strip dinner. Genny ordered just chicken strips. They said 15 minutes for our food. A&W must not sell much chicken? Wait. Here comes Genny with hers. What would take so long for 'dinner'? That meant I got fries and coleslaw. Eventually mine showed up. Regular chicken, not chicken strips. No coleslaw, I had to ask for it. ??? Strange. Root beer doesn't come with ice. At all. None. We had a discussion how Canadians don't do ice in their drinks or plain tea, just sweetened.

We discussed breakfast. Jim was interested in resaurant food. Tomorrow is a big mile day. Sitting around waiting in a restaurant isn't so fun. Oren and I generally just eat in the room and go. Jim and Genny looked around in the adjoining store and decided that the big muffins and coffee would get them down the road to Avola for a real breakfast.

Genny had asked me if I left Jacinto a note where we were. Such a good idea, but I didn't do it. I suspected Jacinto would be waiting.

I bought milk, V-8, and a soda for Jacinto. Down the hill. Fiddle with the assorted doors to get in the locked courtyard and the room. Yep - there's Jacinto. The front desk lady had told him we were at A&W, but he showered instead.

We had a stack of rags to clean our very dirty and sandy bikes. You would think with all of the rain the past few days, there wouldn't be any sand on the road. Except it sounds like here they haven't had rain, the front desk lady was happy it was raining. We weren't as happy.

Now we have our clothes outside in the sunshine, drying. I'm enjoying the sun shining in the window on my bare feet. The weather looks good for the next couple of days. Yay!

Again, I have photos on my camera that I can't get off.

There aren't many ranches around here, or they just don't have fancy gates. These appears to be a casting or sculpture. It was quite large.
Heart 0 Comment 0
When you carry your own clothes, it's wash 'em and wear 'em again the next day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I swear, there really was a patch of blue in this gray sky. It got larger and larger until the sun started shining. I love sunshine!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oren loves touring in the rain. No matter how much rain we have, it hasn't been as bad as the New York tour with Jerry Harp. That was epic.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 830 miles (1,336 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0