Where's The People - We're So Happy We Can Hardly Count - CycleBlaze

July 27, 2016

Where's The People

It is difficult to put in words how comfortable the bed is in this hostel. I lay down at night and fall asleep in no time. No one, nor nothing disturbs me until I wake up next morning.

Last night though, I was up late writing a journal page, the wifi working surprisingly well for a change, so I don't wake until 8.30. Late for me.

Actually, I'm awakened by the noise in the outside passage: sweeping and a bucket filling under a water-tap, which moments later could be heard flushed out over the passageway's paving flags, proceeded by energetic sweeping with a brush.

A Brazilian couple are the other guests at breakfast this morning. They are travelling by bus all the way to Ecuador. They mention "we seem to be the only people here" meaning in the hostel. Sure enough. Its hard to see how this hostel covers the cost of staying open, with so few paying guests.

There are three workers: the receptionist, who we heard sweeping the passage and courtyard earlier. A very pleasant helpful woman about late thirtyish. A young girl that makes the breakfasts, does the housekeeping, bed making and the like. She usually finishes by eleven. Lastly, a night manager.

I begin another journal page sat in the outside courtyard wifi hotspot, the wifi works reasonably well in the morning-time, which is fine until the shadow of the building around recedes with bright sunshine making it impossible to see the computer screen, whereupon, I take myself out to a café, pass the receptionist staring at her phone with an expression of boredom, her work finished for the day with eight hours to hang around until the night manager comes in at six.

There are many cafes to choose from on a street off the main plaza, catering to the tastes of western travellers. I usually go to one called "Joyride" run by a Dutch expat couple. It works best as a daytime coffee shop, as it gets a bit rowdy in the evening. Anyway, when I get there its eleven; time for second breakfast, which, although portions are small, with a cappuccino it doubles as lunch.

On a good day I can do three journal pages, but today, there's a lot of people in, which has caused the wifi to go slow with all those phones competing for signal, so I leave early with one page finished.

I take a walk up the steep street to the view point, up the hill to the east of the centre armed with my camera, which, I don't often carry when walking around a city, but thought I need journal photos to show Sucre. However, none of the photos I take are any good, so I've none to show. Perhaps I'll have better luck tomorrow.

Back at the hostel later, I looking at the "Hostelworld" site. Looking to change to a more lively hostel, when I come upon this:

"Backpackers love the original HI Sucre" They're talking about this place. "...and Lonely Planet called it perhaps the nicest hostel in the Andes, offering the best beds, quality and clean."

Amen. But, there's no atmosphere. It needs people.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0