Time For More Music: Desert Island Discs, Seventh Choice. - We're So Happy We Can Hardly Count - CycleBlaze

May 31, 2016

Time For More Music: Desert Island Discs, Seventh Choice.

KY: Lets talk about your next choice of music.

SK: Yes. This takes me back. Originally it was known as "Cross Road Blues" and recorded by American blues man Robert Johnson in 1936, on acoustic guitar in Delta Blues style. Then in the late 1960s, Eric Clapton popularised the song in a Blues Rock style with the three piece band Cream.

KY: Lets listen then.

KY: Crossroads by Cream, the seventh desert island disc choice of my guest this morning, touring cyclist Sean Kane.

I want to talk about your journal writing now.

SK: Fire away.

KY: It hasn't been going too well recently.

SK: You noticed. I'd say it hasn't been going well for many months. When you're on the road cycle touring for as long as I have, it becomes difficult to find something interesting to write. And, at the same time, because there is pressure on to make each journal update interesting, its easy to lose confidence in myself....

KY: In which way?

SK: I tend to back away from sitting down to do the journal, because I see what I've written in my notebook and know its going be difficult for me to make it mesh and flow like a story. It would be no good just writing a list of things that happened.

The thought of reducing the journal to a page per week has crossed my mind, too, where I write about one event from one day, and underneath have a quick recap of the week, Monday through to Sunday.

KY: So you think that's the way you'll go and there'll be less updates in future?

SK: I don't know. We'll see. Another way of going about it that I've had in mind, is to keep up a page for each day, but write only a very short text, two-hundred words say. A soundbite, such as, a description of something and nothing more. The overall aim would be to reduce the time spent on the computer.

KY: Well, whatever you decide, I for one look forward to reading more.

You have reached San Pedro de Atacama and are clearly anxious to continue.

SK: I really want to leave. I would've left yesterday, but the weather was foul. Strong wind and looking up at the mountains to the east, where my road goes next, there was low black cloud, where it looked like it was snowing. The road I wish to take goes up to four and a half thousand metres, crossing to Argentina, and, at this time of year, going into June, the police, authorities, or whoever looks after the border up there, often close the road because of icy road conditions.

It isn't the worse place to be stuck. Four of us from the hostel I'm staying in have been out on a mountain bike ride, me riding my touring bike on a stony sandy track with a few streams to ford, to visit remote Inca Ruins, a place called Pucara. It was late afternoon when we eventually found the old citadel, or what remains of it, on a hilltop with pieces of ceramic pottery scattered in among the stones of the fallen walls. It was interesting riding back in the dark, not being able to see the track, waiting to ride into a stone or something.

KY: I know the listeners will be interested to know, have you had many problems with the bike.

SK: Em, not any that I couldn't fix myself. If something broke that I couldn't fix, I could make the bike ride-able and ride slowly to the next town with a bike shop.

KY: And what other problems do you foresee ahead?

SK: Not many that I can think of now. The thing I don't have is good paper maps, so I rely on google maps, which isn't ideal.

KY: And your final destination of this tour is Brazil.

SK: Yes, that's the plan.

KY: Its now time for your eighth and last choice for a desert island, but before we go further, you've uploaded two YouTube videos to the website.

SK: Yes. The first is a very amusing documentary on Cream, made in 1993.

Followed by, "Jack Bruce The Man Behind The Bass"



Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0