The Good Road: bad road to route 9 dream, to lakeside campsite - We're So Happy We Can Hardly Count - CycleBlaze

August 21, 2016

The Good Road: bad road to route 9 dream, to lakeside campsite

I'm awake and up for quarter to seven. A dull overcast morning. Large very territorial birds make a great squawking sound outside, one diving down attacking my tent. Though after five minutes they fly off.

I get on the road for half eight. The morning remaining cloudy with some wind making it feel cold to begin with. The road surface varied. Parts are old rough tarmac, a dream to ride on as much of the rest is powdery and deep sand, like riding after a night of fresh snow. The bike sliding around all over the place, but more often than not sinking to a halt, and I'm off pushing for a stretch.

Further on the sandy surface which appears to have been drawn in, tipped and leveled out over a hard surface underneath, would become the predominate feature with much time off walking and pushing the bike, not easy with such a heavily loaded bike.

I couldn't wait to reach the good road, the tarmac instead of this crap. But this road just went on and on: there seemed to be no end in sight. Eventually, though mot too soon, after a steep downhill, I gladly see a tee-junction ahead. The good road, route 9.

There's a few rough houses here, a village off to the east of the main road: at the access road to which is rubbish strewn all over the verge with young children playing in it.

Route 9 running parallel south to north with the Paraguay border, from a border crossing with Argentina to the eastern city Santa Cruz, has not only a good surface but a metre wide shoulder for me to ride upon, though traffic is light.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The road on is like a dream compared to what I's on. I'm able to ride on the big chain-ring. it's such a long time since I've been able to do that.

This evening I've found a campsite by a small lake, lots of vegetation and different birds. Insects too, but luckily they're not too bad.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 110 km (68 miles)
Total: 12,497 km (7,761 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0