Relief: km1173 to 1301. - We're So Happy We Can Hardly Count - CycleBlaze

May 16, 2016

Relief: km1173 to 1301.

I have a job on my hands making it to the next posada to eat and get water. I rode this route in 2010 and remember that posadas are located about forty-fifty kilometres apart, a half day's ride, except, there's one long stretch without any. And remember that long way without anything, is after Agua Verde. So having cycled not far on from Agua Verde, yesterday, I knew there were over a hundred kilometres more until the next chance to eat and get water. Not a big deal, but I've come to rely on the posadas and so don't carry much provisions

The big impediments today are the wind, which has turned to the north west and almost, the first forty kilometres are a constant incline. The headwind and climb has reduced me to walking pace and I'm afraid if the wind increases, I may not reach the next posada by evening. How did I pick such a hard day. The road just goes up. Every crest crossed previously thought to be the summit, reveals a long uphill road ahead. And to the side is what is the most barren grey stony country yet.

Against my fears the wind drops early afternoon, about the time the road begins it way down ever so gradually to a narrow valley. Then coming to where I thought the posada was located the last time, it isn't. The valley on having a succession of short rises, cresting each of which, reveal no posada. Had I imagined it was here the last time. It is now four o'clock and I've drank all the coke bough yesterday and a small bottle of grape flavoured water, a kind motorist gave me Friday, which I thought of as my emergency drink. And I've only half a litre more of tape water to camp.

Then cresting another rise a low building come into view a few hundred metres ahead on the left. The elusive Posada.

When I've eaten, a meat and veg soup starter and chicken, rice and salad main coarse and buy a 2L bottle of coke for the road, I feel a great relief riding on. Again finishing the day after sunset and pitch the tent by an old mine.

I take my first photo late in the afternoon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Track into campsite.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This'll do.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An old mine.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 128 km (79 miles)
Total: 9,897 km (6,146 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0