Not A Lot To Report: route 9 km55 to near Pumamarca - We're So Happy We Can Hardly Count - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2016

Not A Lot To Report: route 9 km55 to near Pumamarca

I can't think of anything to write about today, apart from being on route 9 all day and losing the pleasant greenery and tree canopy, which was my companion yesterday and along the start of today's road, as I climbs back up toward the altoplano.

I was wishing to reach the town of Tilcara, but by half six with not much more than a half hour ontil nightfall, I've still 20km to ride, so pull off the road and find a place to camp by a river.

Tomorrow, I hope to have a short day to Tilcara.

Photo from following morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0

A day later, I'm in Tilcara, not looking forward to the road ahead, which climbs to beyond 3000m. The plan is to reach the Bolivian city, Sucre, about 700km north, which is at a modest 2400m altitude with a pleasant climate, but to get there I've a lot of altoplano (barren cold mountain plateau) to ride.

Today's ride: 106 km (66 miles)
Total: 11,400 km (7,079 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0