Manjana: Two days become three, becomes four. - We're So Happy We Can Hardly Count - CycleBlaze

April 7, 2016

Manjana: Two days become three, becomes four.

The Belgium couple with toddler son were flying home the next day, so they left food they didn't need in the fridge for me. This included beer, and being Belgium, the best beer from a famous local brewer in Valdivia, which was well received, as good beer is expensive here and therefore I haven't drank beer in months.

The hostel is comfy if lacking the homeliness the previous owners created. The new owner and his wife keep themselves to themselves. There has been a trickle of guests, it being low season. The main pro is location; one hundred metres from a supermercado, so I don't have far to go when hungry, either to eat in the cafeteria, or bring back food to cook, enduring the worse hostel kitchen yet, which doesn't have an extractor fan, so cooking is done with a window wide open to let out fumes and steam and also let a cold draught in, cooling food and generally making it unpleasantly cold.

The wifi signal is good throughout the house, which is mostly to blame for me not getting back on the road today. I had planned on laying down to sleep early, but I got into watching a documentary film "The Man Behind The Bass" about legendary Cream bassist and singer-frontman, Jack Bruce. Then "Beware of Mr Baker" another documentary film about Ginger baker, jazz drummer and founding member of Cream. So I didn't lay my head down until those had finished, which was after three.

Waking this morning at eight, I felt completely unrested. That feeling when you've been up all night. I didn't feel like going anywhere. Furthermore the weather didn't look good. There was dark clouds on the horizon. It had rained all yesterday afternoon and it looked like the rain would soon be on today too.

I have the usual breakfast included in the price and let them know I'll be staying another night. Then set off out to find a hard wear shop to buy duct tape, so I can attempt to waterproof the pannier that I had to stitch up after it had split.

Finally, as you see, breaking the camera memory card, hasn't effected up loading the photos I'd taken before it broke. However, remember I couldn't further use the card to take more photos, so I've had to buy a new memory card.

Anyway, I should definitely be back out on the road in the morning.

It takes four to make coffee. How much longer do I have to wait for that coffee!?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bandaria, or ibis.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Irish.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0