Malfunction: Culvert Camp to Rio Ecker. - We're So Happy We Can Hardly Count - CycleBlaze

December 20, 2015

Malfunction: Culvert Camp to Rio Ecker.

My camera has been playing up this last few days. Basically, I can't adjust the manual settings, nor the ISO, nor view what I've taken; and, the autofocus doesn't work all the time. So I'm left with the mode dial set on A, "aperture priority" and ISO200, meaning I've lost a lot of flexibility when taking pictures. And the focus problem has left a lot of photos soft and even out of focus. Nonetheless, I've used them as they illustrate the day.

Now a week later the problem has solved itself and I'm thinking it may've been condensation or even water from that wet day, which shorted the system and now has dried out. I keep the camera in the handle-bar bag, supposedly waterproof, but nothing is a hundred per cent rain-prove after hours of rain. All raincoats eventually let in the rain; my goretex gloves quickly become saturated to the lining.

A change today.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have started to think how lucky I am, as the ride south on 40 hasn't been too inhibited by the wind. Yesterday I'd a crosswind, but it was manageable, allowing me to ride. It could've got so strong in the afternoon, that I wouldn't have been unable to stand up, never mind ride.

There is just a light breeze today and having got going shortly after half seven, I soon reach a changing landscape. The most significant feature being several long downhill stretches with rolling steppe hills vistas as far a the eye can see.

Eventually I join lateral road 43, and continue west to Perito Moreno, another settlement which appears from afar like a shattering of boxes dropped from the sky on the immense Patagonian landscape; more so as I approach from a height coming from the east and descend to a great hollow, the town nested at the far side in the shadow of a huge table mountain.

Perito Moreno from a height on route 43 coming from the east.
Heart 0 Comment 0

By now dark cloud has rolled in from the west and it is raining not far ahead, though, other than extreme dull light, doesn't reach me as I ride into a Sunday morning deserted town street, where I find a family run supermercado open and buy all the rice, polenta, packet soup and cans of tuna I'll need until I reach El Calafate. There is only one town left between here and there to buy more in nearly seven-hundred kilometres.

By the time I've packed everything in my pannier, the threatened rain has moved on and it is brightening up. Across the street from the supermercado, I spot an interpretation board on the wall of a shop on the corner, so I cross over to have a closer look.

In big lettering there's Casa Historico Patrimonial; underneath is an old black and white photo of the shop in the 1950s with a car from the era parked outside. Text underneath translates, the oldest general store in Perito Moreno, established in 1938 by an immigrant from Lebanon.

Before going further I find a petrol station and fill up on water, by which time it's lunchtime and a block away find a tree shaded plaza to sit and eat.

Old unpaved route 40 leaving Perito Moreno. Hard to believe I actually rode that in 2004.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Leaving town I hadn't realised how much climbing there was when I passed in 2004. Nowadays the recently built tarmac road continues; then, I rode upon ripio, the loose graded stony soil, the remains of which can be seen alongside for much of the rest of the day. That day eleven years ago I remember being tired by lunchtime and stopped early at estancia Telken, which then was recommended by Lonely Planet for accommodation and an evening meal. I camped on the lawn garden and took a seat at the table that evening: the other guests a mix of nationalities.

Estancia Telken.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Well there's not much more to say about today, except it got a bit windy during the afternoon, fortunately coming from the right direction for fanning me along. I think eleven years ago I'd to look at the road too much and missed the dramatic black hills and red petrified forest country that I pass through today.

By evening I descend to a green valley with a river called Rio Ecker, which provides me with a good campsite by the road bridge across, though there are a lot of small rodens living in the rocks the road-builders have put in place to support the footing for the bridge approach and, I think they'll be in the tent by morning looking at my food.

Another big downhill.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An old cattlegrid.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More climbing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The old road along the hillside
Heart 0 Comment 0
Actual colour; not a huge truck-tyre bonfire, nor ink spilt on the lens.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rio Pintora, not far from the famous cave hand prints.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rio Ecker with the bridge approach proving a buffer against the wind.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 144 km (89 miles)
Total: 2,812 km (1,746 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0