Highroad: near junction of routes 51 and 40 to route 40-km4591 - We're So Happy We Can Hardly Count - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2016

Highroad: near junction of routes 51 and 40 to route 40-km4591

It was another cold night, but as there is only low hills to the east of where I camped, the sun warms me by the time I break camp.

I ride the couple of kilometres east and turn south upon route 40, where a sign has "Abra de Cay 30km" The unsealed road a mix of dust and small stones, but compacted, so very ride-able. And with 30km ahead gaining 900m of altitude, I calculate reaching Abra de Cay, the high pass around about two o'clock. The weather so far in my favour; sunny without any wind. I hope it continues calm.

The way crosses open plain for about the first fifteen kilometres before the hills close in either side to a narrow valley with white frozen stream below the road on the left. The road already climbing gradually. Then the road twists up the hillside a few turns to continue along a terrace and with the increase in steepness, I'm suddenly out of breath and am forced to stop and gasp for air.

I suppose the thin air, lack of oxygen to the blood, the legs suddenly die. Like an engine deprived air conking out. I suddenly feel muscular pain and exhaustion and stop slumped over the handle-bars gasping.

This is only the beginning. The climb not very steep as it continues as a terrace carved into the hillside, winding its way around the side of many hillocks all the way up to a high ridge, the summit where it would start downhill. I could only ride fifty metres no more until I have to stop and rest. In places I decide pushing is less exhausting than riding, but its going very slowly and by three o'clock, I'm still a fair few kilometres from the top. I also feel lightheaded and in the bright sunshine have short spells where my sight is blurred.

Heart 0 Comment 0
This is as steep as it gets.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The summit is the lump upon the ridge in the top left.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In due coarse I see I am making progress; looking to the side, see the road I've ridden wound back round the hills which are now well below me. And looking up ahead, it isn't too far to go. Then having ridden along what would be the last long straight stretch, I turn a corner and am relieved to see the top just a couple of hundred metres ahead.

There's an icy cold breeze blowing as I lean the bike against a signboard with the altitude. It is a desolate spot and I don't remain more than the few minutes it takes to take a photo, eat a few biscuits and drink coke, my late lunch. It is now after four and I want to get down the other side as far as possible before nightfall.

The way down is a cliff face which the road diagonally switch-backs its way down. I don't envy any one cycling from the south climbing from this side. The road continues steeply down into a hollow. The road surface with many large loose stones so I've to be careful. Then from the hollow the road drops into a narrow gorges where the road continues along a ledge for a bit before a further steep wind down, thereupon I spot a campsite below, a gravel pit dugout at a hairpin bend. I descend to it and pitch the tent at dusk. A good place even though by the roadside. There were only three cars passed all day and there won't be any during the night.

Anxious.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 km (27 miles)
Total: 10,986 km (6,822 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0