Breaking The Cycle - We're So Happy We Can Hardly Count - CycleBlaze

March 25, 2016

Breaking The Cycle

The amount of days I have off the bike doing necessary things is quite a lot. I have been here in Puerto Varas a week as I write, or seven days against nine riding days since my last big break, back in Coyhaique. Days when I do ride are long days in the saddle as that's what I like. There is an allure to pedalling from early morning to evening, but eventually, usually after a week of such continuous cycling, there's need for a break, like anything else, over doing a relished activity can lead to flagging enthusiasm as well as eventual physical exhaustion.

Puerto Varas is just the sort of place to stop for those days off the bike, a town with all services. I'm glad I decide on stopping here. The hostel where I camp on a small bit of decking for half the price of a dorm bed, I luckily come upon riding into town last Friday. Many of the other hostellers here are the hiker variety, including a girl from Colorado, who was here when I first arrived and returned yesterday after five days hiking in a national park toward the Argentine frontier to the east, where she described incredible scenery. The park is just to the south of a lake called "Lago Todo Los Santos". There's a border crossing via a ferry across this lake, but on the other side, after a trail crosses the border to a much bigger lake, Lago Nahuel Huapi, there's a very expensive catarmaran service to Barilochi in order to regain the road. I never considered going this way anyway, but thought it must be very scenic. Instead for my planned route ahead, I'm set on crossing into Argentina, on a major border crossing just to the north of this area.

Today is the beginning of the Easter weekend and the town is full of traffic and people, as I take a last walk about. Tomorrow back on the road I suppose the roads will be busy with all the extra Easter traffic.

Puerto Varas is set on the shore of a huge lake, Lago Llanquihue, with a view across to Vulcan Orsorno.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scrap metal sculpture.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Working out on a rowing machine.
Heart 0 Comment 0
You will be giving me a bite to eat, won't you?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pedestrian crossing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Caffeine fix.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I thought this would be a good shot to show the typical street, but just as I get the camera ready, a car come along and parks itself in the middle of it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had to put the cat out.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0