Munich - Reaching New Heights - CycleBlaze

October 13, 2021 to October 14, 2021

Munich

A Special Finish

Wednesday, 13 October

 Today I head to Munich, my last cycling day on this tour.

 It was drizzling when I woke, with a better than even chance for clearing skies by noon. Determined to arrive in Munich by bike, I had a hearty breakfast, layered up and headed out. By the time I left, the rain had stopped and each small patch of blue sky raised my hopes that it would stay dry all day – and maybe grace me with a little sunshine. The first eight miles took me through lovely German countryside on small roads/bike paths that have been typical of this tour.

I think there is a little bright spot in the sky!
Heart 3 Comment 0
On the way to Munich
Heart 6 Comment 0
Brightening skies on the way to Munich
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Near the southern end of Ammersee, the route turned northeast on a moderately busy road for the 1.5 mile climb up to Andechs. I briefly considered a short detour to visit the Andechs Abbey -highly recommended by my friends Carla and Alexander - but I decided the weather was too unpredictable and I kept moving. For a long stretch thereafter, I was on a bike path that ran alongside a secondary road. It wasn’t the always most scenic or peaceful cycling, but it seemed to be an efficient route to Munich. The best news was the appearance of a midday sun, bringing warmth and brightening the day.

A visit to the Andechs Abbey will have to wait for another day
Heart 5 Comment 0
Is that sunlight shining on those distant trees??
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cows grazing in the sun
Heart 6 Comment 0
Blue skies and sunshine - now we're talking!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Horse and his shadow
Heart 4 Comment 0
This one would not look up - only interested in munching and i had nothing to offer
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

I dipped down into Starnberg during the crowded lunch hour and soon was on the outskirts of Munich, passing through Forstenreider Park on a long, straight paved road that went on for miles and miles through the forest. It was an amazing stretch - I passed only one person and their dog until the last mile when a few joggers intruded on my solitude. The final miles of the day took me along well-marked bike lanes into the Munich Alstadt, following seasoned city bikers as we navigated around construction sites and the occasional inattentive pedestrian. I arrived at my hotel around three, back where I’d started thirty-two days ago.

I celebrated the completion of the tour with a nap! Later I met Alexander’s mother for dinner at a nearby Bavarian restaurant where we got to know each other over regional fare and talk of family and cycling.

Passing near Gauting on the way to Starnberg
Heart 4 Comment 0
A short gravel spur took me into Forstenreider Park
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Forstenreider Park
Heart 2 Comment 0
Along the trails of Sud Park - a nice respite before hitting the city streets
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Thursday, 14 October

 Today was spent packing up Vivien George (newly washed by my wonderful hotel staff), working on the journal, and getting ready to fly back to Paris in the morning. The grand finale of the tour was dinner with fellow CycleBlazer Suzanne Gibson. She met me at my hotel and we had a great meal at a nearby Italian restaurant – though the tiramisu didn’t hold up to those I’d had in Italy. But the real treat was the time spent sharing stories of our lives, our cycling, and our futures. Suzanne is a remarkable person and the evening was a real highlight of the tour.

Suzanne
Heart 8 Comment 0
Susan
Heart 10 Comment 1
Alyssa LightGreat pic!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan and Suzanne - but you probably figured that out!
Heart 9 Comment 3
Suzanne GibsonSee Susan's halo!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Alyssa LightBeautiful ladies!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Over dinner, Suzanne and I talked of CycleBlaze and the community spirit of those who share and/or follow our journeys. This tour, as fantastic as it was, was made even more special by the CycleBlaze bookends – meeting Scott and Rachael on the front end, and Suzanne on the back end. And throughout there were those of you who followed along, giving encouragement, advice, or kudos – it is always uplifting to hear from you and I thank you very much.

I’ll be in Paris for a couple of weeks before heading back to the US. There may be a few postings from Paris and I hope to give a final wrap up, but the cycling portion of Reaching New Heights has ended. The tour vastly exceeded my expectations - and best of all, I had a blast.

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 953 miles (1,534 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 15
Comment on this entry Comment 25
Bill ShaneyfeltIt was nice following along! Interesting meeting fellow 'Blazers on each end! Triggered many memories of trips to so much of the area you covered when we were stationed near Kaiserslautern in the mid-70s. Thanks for all the photos!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tricia GrahamI have so enjoyed following your fabulous tour. Thank you very much
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kathleen JonesYou celebrated your 70th year right. Well done. And thanks for taking us along.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Lucy MartinYay! I loved following along on your amazing trip. I’m really happy for you.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonYou made it! Congratulations. I’ll miss reading your posts! Have a great time in Paris.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonNice that you had reasonable weather for your final day. and what a wonderful series of portraits from your visit with Suzanne.

And thanks again for letting us be a part of your splendid journey. Bookends, sharing a shelf with Suzanne! We feel honored.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith KleinHi,
Thanks for a great tour! I’ve been following along silently, and jealously I might add. Enjoy Paris. Safe travels.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Laura ChiharaCongratulations on a fantastic bike tour---no encounters with skunks, winds with copious sand or worries about grizzlies!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Scott AndersonWe had some other selfies, goofy ones that made us laugh, but we promised not to post them.
Btw, the honor is all mine.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonWe had such a delightful evening together. I loved meeting you and hope it wasn't the last time!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bob DistelbergSusan, thanks for bringing us along! I very much enjoyed following this trip. Looking forward to hearing what you'll be up to next.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rich FrasierThank you, Susan! I love following along with your adventures. It’s great that you had a sunny day to finish off the tour. So many beautiful places you’ve been to in 32 days! Time for a well-earned rest. Hope you enjoy Paris!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks Bill! I always appreciate you being there to help out with my utter lack of knowledge re flora, fauna, insecta, etc. It adds a lot to our journals.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Tricia GrahamThank you Tricia. I hope that you and Ken are able to make it back to Europe for another of your amazing adventures.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Kathleen JonesThanks Kathleen - it’s always nice to hear from you!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Lucy MartinThanks Lucy!! Hoping to ride with you again sometime soon!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachael AndersonThank you Rachael! I really enjoyed cycling with you and Scott and look forward to round 2! Wishing you a great finish to your tour and a nice interlude in Portland.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonThanks Scott - it really was a splendid tour! So delighted to share a part of it with you and Rachael. Until next time.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Keith KleinThanks Keith - I appreciate you following along. Maybe we’ll get a chance to meet up sometime in France.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Laura ChiharaThanks Laura for following along. It really was an amazing journey. I thought of you and Kitty several times during this trip, thinking that you two are probably the only cycling buddies I have who would really embrace all the craziness of this adventure. Looking forward to riding with you again!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Suzanne GibsonHello Suzanne
It really was a delightful time and I so appreciate that you took the time and effort to set up the evening. I’ve started my application for a long term visa and I look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Happy cycling!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Bob DistelbergThanks Bob - I really appreciate you following along.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rich FrasierThank you Rich, and thanks for your comments along the way. Please let me know if you want more info on the VIA for your trip next year. There is a lot of gravel, so my advice would be to perhaps consider a wider tire than you might otherwise use. But it’s a fantastic route! I look forward to reading about your trip next year.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Susan CarpenterAn LSV? Really? Where are you thinking of as your home base? Do keep us in the loop on your progress on this. It’s a step that’s been in the backs of our minds for awhile also.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonDefinitely will - I’ll be in touch in a couple of weeks after I return to States
Reply to this comment
2 years ago