The Greater Portland Hill Quest - The Road to Rome, Part One: America - CycleBlaze

April 9, 2021

The Greater Portland Hill Quest

Well, this wasn’t thought out very well.  It’s nice having a break from blog duty, but along with it went some of my motivation to get out the door on my bike.  Slug that I am, it’s all too easy to talk myself into taking a lazy loop along the waterfront or just sitting the day out completely.  Rachael doesn’t have this particular character defect and is faithfully getting out on 42 mile rides or 10 mile hikes every day, without fail.

I must need to shake things up a bit if I don’t want to fall badly out of shape and find myself spending all of June and July struggling to keep up with my fitter friend.  Fortunately, a bit of inspiration just arrived with my coffee this morning and I’m happy to announce that another quest is in the offing: the Greater Portland Hill Quest.

Inspiration is where you find it.
Heart 3 Comment 0

So here’s the plan.  If you’ve been following along for awhile, you already have a good idea of what Portland has to offer.  We haven’t built any new bridges lately, we’ve still got the same old bird list, the flowers and trees look much as they have before, and the new wall art in town is a pretty depressing gallery of political commentary covering the plywood sheets protecting the downtown storefronts.  There are a few new heritage trees that have been dedicated over the winter, but not enough to add up to more than one good workout.

Portland has a lot of hills.  Rachael has a GoPro, which is just sitting on the shelf doing nothing at the moment.  So here’s the plan: I’ll take you all on a spin around town, focusing on the highlands and featuring video from the descents.  It shouldn’t take much blogging work to put up a few photos, a map, and a video from time to time.  And if I stick with it, I should be able to keep up with Rachael when we get to the hilly Adirondacks this summer.

There’s no official list of Portland’s interesting downhill cycling routes, but at least a dozen immediately come to mind.  Here’s a starter list, to give me something to aim for.  If I run through all these I can always go a bit further afield or stare at the terrain view map for inspiration.

  1. Council Crest
  2. Washington Park
  3. River View Cemetery
  4. Mount Tabor
  5. Rocky Butte
  6. Powell Butte
  7. Thompson/Cornell Road
  8. Springville Road
  9. Newberry Road
  10. McNamee Road
  11. Logie Trail Road
  12. Rocky Point Road

That should do for a start.  Let’s get to work.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 16
Andrea BrownCoordinate your Cornell Road trip with me, so you can stop by and see the twins. They’re just a little ways up Miller Road, which is also a good uphill workout that I have no plans to ever do.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Suzanne GibsonSo glad you didn't keep your word about not posting for a while!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Andrea BrownThat would be wonderful! I’d love to see the girls. Afterwards I could push my way back up Hazeltine to get back up to Skyline. If that’s the street I’m thinking of it must be about the steepest street in town.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonI do hate to disappoint anyone. I had a couple days off and feel pretty rejuvenated.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Andrea BrownTo Scott AndersonThe streets in that neighborhood are killers. Pushing a double stroller or pulling a wagon with two kids in it is simply awful.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bruce LellmanTo Scott AndersonWhat! You're back already!?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanYup. Like I never left. Two days off, and I’m good to go again.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bruce LellmanThere's another road you should check out sometime. SW Bergis Rd. just south of Lake Oswego. It's a beautiful rural hill road with a great view from the top in a rather upscale neighborhood.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jen RahnVery happy to see River View Cemetery on the list! If it's a low traffic day, maybe you could ride up the hill twice and ride down Terwilliger Extension for a 2nd fun descent? I think the trail on the Willamette extends down that far now for the ride home(?)
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Jen RahnTerwilliger Extension? Where did you pull that label from? I searched on it and found only a newspaper article from 1928. You’re right though, it’s definitely worth a look. I see that it was just placed on the National Register of Historic Places: https://bikeportland.org/2021/03/26/terwilliger-parkway-and-its-bike-lanes-earn-listing-on-national-historic-register-329242.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jen RahnI'm thinking of the section between Lewis & Clark Law School and Hwy 43.

Last time I rode it the only bike lane was through Tryon Creek. Beautiful, but it was pretty rough. Riding on the road was much faster, but narrow/no shoulder and maybe not-so-fun with heavy traffic.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Jen RahnI think I’ve only ridden the road through that stretch once, but have taken the Tryon Creek path many times. It’s slow and a bit busy with foot and cycle traffic, but very relaxing. They resurfaced it a few years back to smooth out the worst of the tree root damage, so it’s not so bumpy any more. I should ride it as part of the quest, especially now while the trilliums are probably out.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanNever heard of it, so thanks for the recommendation. There are several other good climbs down that way I should get to also. If I’m really feeling frisky some day I’d like to make it down to Laurelhood Road and its amazing descent from Bald Peak.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bruce LellmanTo Scott AndersonRiding all the way around the lake in Lake Oswego would be full of lots of hills too.

Bergis Road is a great climb (my car barely makes it) and then the view from of the Willamette River and Mt. Hood from the top is great, fancy big mansions all around on top as well and then you can descend the other side heading east which runs into 43 which has a bike lane. I think the descent back down Bergis would be more fun however.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanThis is getting very complicated and I’m getting confused. I think some caffeine may be required to make it all come clear.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bruce LellmanTo Scott AndersonI made only one grammatical error, I think, but, yes, let's have coffee and I can show you on a map. Everything is made more clear with coffee.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago