South Fork - Pagosa Springs, CO - The Mountain Goat Tour - CycleBlaze

July 21, 2011

South Fork - Pagosa Springs, CO

Not only can you see a cattle drive in Colorado, but you can buy prospecting supplies at the grocery store in South Fork.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is your warning sign. Chain up zones for the semis mean the climbing is about to get tougher.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Whew, just seeing this sign makes me tired. A 10 mile warning?
Heart 0 Comment 0
The hot breakfast eaters caught up with me at the restroom. We all had a snack there. Everyone was happy - agreed the climbing was good - it was a great last day - and no one's butt hurt excessively.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We were still in the narrow part of the canyon here. If you look closely at the photo you can see the black net draped high on the walls. This is to (hopefully) keep rocks from falling on the roadway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Going around the tunnel on the service road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Isn't this beautiful scenery? Look at those black clouds already ~9 AM. Perhaps my 'be off the top by noon to avoid the rain' rule isn't going to work here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look! I do have another photo of myself with my bike. John caught up with me at the top. I was very jealous of his leftover pancake and bacon snack at the top. I had jerky and a granola bar. Not even a PB&J today . . . . I enjoy it when I have 'real' food to eat at the top of the climb - but somehow I never have food leftover the night before.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto had gone on ahead, down to the road construction (they are adding a third lane in the steep switchback area). Then he turned around and rode back uphill until he saw me. He ended up with about 5 extra miles. Jacinto was feeling light and happy today. Since we had to drive through South Fork on the way home, he left his BOB trailer at the Lodge. We would pick it up on the way home. Jacinto said climbing was much easier without the trailer. Imagine that?
Heart 0 Comment 0

We hit two areas of construction on the downhill side. Neither slowed us down much. We all arrived at the motel at about the same time. All vehicles were still there, undamaged. They all started. We loaded the bikes up, showered, then walked next door for a goodbye lunch.

It had been a good tour. Great scenery, great roads, great friends. I hope we all get a chance to ride together again soon.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0