Abiquiu - Chama, NM - The Mountain Goat Tour - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2011

Abiquiu - Chama, NM

We left early enough in the morning that the moon was still out.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Jacinto set his alarm for 4:45 AM. What? He wants to get going early with me? Geez, even I don't get up that early. Jacinto mentions getting an early start to beat the heat. OK . . . . I can do it if he does, but I am remembering back in 2009 when he told Ken and I we should start early because it would be a long, hard day and we should try to beat the wind. But when it came time to get up, he didn't. This time Jacinto did get up. Before the alarm. I'm not sure he really would have, except it was so warm in our room all night long we were happy to get up and outside where it was cool(er). I counted. I had taken four showers during our stay to try and cool off.

Can you imagine that Jacinto is on the road at 5:59 AM and it was his idea? That has never happened before. Ever.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is the last I saw of Jacinto until Tierra Amarilla. He gradually pulled away from me on the extended climbs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is in the area of the Georgia O'Keefe home. Unique scenery.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto did remember that I didn't have a PB&J sandwich today and needed granola bars and beef jerky. I quit cussing him for not waiting for me. There's no one grouchier than a hungry cycle tourist!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look! We got high enough in elevation that the ponderosa pines are back. They didn't last long, we descended into pinion territory, but not so low that it was only sagebrush. I find it very interesting to note the change in vegetation in relation to the elevation.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I looked nostalgically to the right as I crested the climb. Here's where Hwy 64 starts - that was one tough day. Funny how I look back on the toughest days with the fondest memories.

I was happy to crest the hill as I knew I could coast down to Tierra Amarilla where Jacinto was waiting. I had a V-8 juice at the convenience store. John soon appeared - his snack of choice is a Dr. Pepper and a Payday candy bar. I did try the PayDay bar later in the trip - protein and carbs after all. But I've never been a soda drinker.

Jacinto took off for town after John showed up. Soon the California crew came rolling up. They opted for a sit down meal at the restaurant across the street.

Jacinto and I had agreed to go for a late lunch at the little diner next to the motel. The faster I got to town, the faster I could have real food.

The fledglings were so noisy that I had to stop and take their photo. Maybe it was dinnertime?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Soon I hit the chip and seal road construction. The flag person sent me on through - warning me to watch for the hot oil. Eeegads! Hot oil on my precious bicycle? I wondered how far I would have to push through the weeds to avoid the oil. I rode about a block on the dirt to get past the fresh gravel. Then the shoulder was clean the rest of the way. It had already been brushed off. Lucky me. I did see them spreading fresh oil on the opposite side of the highway. But none near my bike. Lucky me again. If we have to go through road construction - this is the way to do it.

I could see lightening and hear thunder off to my right as I approached town. I picked up the pace as it appeared to be heading my way. The cloud cover was welcome. I did get a few drops, but that was it.

A quick shower and we were off to eat. Cheryl commented several times throughout the trip that she really enjoyed cycling with our group because we liked to eat. There are cycle tourists that don't like to eat? I've never seen one.

We stopped at the roadside fruit stand next door and bought a small bag of cherries for $6.59 per pound. I'm not sure they were worth the price, but they were tasty.

For dinner we walked the mile into town to a restaurant John had eaten at before. We had to sit at two tables as they were busy. I order a burger and fries for $4.50 - the cheapest meal of the trip except for my $3.00 eggs and pancake in Mora.

Jacinto left his alarm set for 4:45 AM. He said we'd get an early start again. Wow. I wonder what's with this . . . but I'm good. It's nice to have his company early in the morning.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0