Moline, Illinois to Freeport, Illinois - Mothers (Day) of Invention Tour - CycleBlaze

May 14, 2017

Moline, Illinois to Freeport, Illinois

Yaaa, Mule!!!

I awoke early, to make a couple eggs, down some of Mom's Keurig coffee and get myself prepped for what was sure to be a long day in the saddle. The forecast was gorgeous, and although the forecast was for rather warm temps, there was a steady SW wind that would blow me up the river valley and I was all for that.

My ass continued to complain loudly as I ate breakfast. Hmmm. What to do? Cue the cartoon light bulb. I remembered an Old Cyclist's Trick my Dad had shared with me years ago. Sprinkle a certain kind of common baking product in your cycling shorts to absorb perspiration and it magically wards off chaffing and irritation! I'd done it in past years and it had worked like a charm. But ... I was struggling to remember what exactly that substance was. I prowled through mom's cupboards after my eggs and checked out what was up there .... hmmmm, no, no, not that. Then, Eureka! Baking soda! That was it ... I think ... well, yeah, it must be! It was Arm and Hammer something or other. I liberally sprinkled it in my bike shorts and then put some more in a plastic baggie and closed it with a twist tie for use the next day. I was massively pleased with myself for remembering this slam dunk cycling folk remedy.

The Secret Ingrediant to Prevent Saddle Sores .... Or so I thought.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Mom sent me off with a hug and a kiss, and many admonishments to "be careful out there" and off I went, setting out from her driveway. Heading out of town I also rolled by one of the Elementary Schools I attended as a kid, Garfield El. School. Although it is still standing, sadly it looks like it has been mothballed. I stopped and took a picture and smiled a little smile thinking about Mrs. Copeland, my fourth grade and all time favorite teacher, and then about Mr. Bandle the principal of the school, because wonder of wonders I spent much of my working life as an elementary school principal. Whaddya know, right? After that reminiscence, I took off.

Back to Wisco.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The mothballed Garfield Elementary School that I attended as a kid. Many happy memories here.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I headed upriver and simply repeated my previous ride of the Great River Trail which was now familiar to me. There was a delicious tailwind this time and that helped a lot, although my nether regions were NOT feeling optimal. Ouch, ouch, ouch. After about 40 miles the pain subsided some and it morphed into a numbing state of acceptable general discomfort. There were plenty of beautiful moments to take my mind off that though. The trail is sublime (especially with a tailwind), and I also had a 20 minute chat with a gentlemen mowing his lawn near Cordova who has the most amazing handlebar mustache I have ever seen. I so badly wanted to get a picture of it, and I bet he would have agreed, but my introverted nature wouldn't let me ask. I'll have to work on that.

Ugh. Selfies. Focus on the lovely lines of the prairie and the trail.
Heart 2 Comment 0
May be tough to see, but check out all the turtles sunning themselves on the log.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Upriver View.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Knowing I was riding all the way to Freeport I tried to plot a route that would shave as many miles as possible, so there were some new roads to see. At about the 80 mile mark my water bottles were tapped out and I approached the little town of Shannon, Illinois. I figured I could find a convenience store to refill and started looking for a likely spot for such a thing. As I rolled through the village I spied a couple elderly women walking into the front door of a church, "Hey!" I thought, "churches will always welcome the lonely traveler, right?" What better place to ask for some water and a little air conditioning. I figured the ladies I saw were attending a committee meeting of some kind, so I parked the bike, grabbed my bottles, and hustled in right after them.

The church in Shannon, Illinois where seeking sustenance, I landed one heck of a story too.
Heart 2 Comment 0

In the large entryway area were a LOT of people chatting, laughing, and having a nice visit, all standing around. Well, this was unexpected. I didn't want to interrupt so I walked up to a woman signing some sort of registry. She looked at me a little puzzled as I quietly asked, "Say, would there be a bathroom or water fountain around somewhere?" and shot her my most winning smile... as the last words left my mouth the crowd parted a little bit so that I could now clearly see the open coffin containing the dear departed ... looking to be an elderly matron of the church who had recently passed. My mouth dropped when I realized I'd just crashed a funeral visitation looking like a horrible, sweat stained, insect encrusted, sunburned vagrant. I stuttered something apologetic and hopefully coherent and scuttled downstairs to find the kitchen and fill my bottles. Well, maybe I made the deceased's send-off a little more memorable for everyone, wondering who the mystery visitor was paying his respects today. I found a basement door exit and hustled out that way. As I pushed it open I thought to myself, "Oh, boy, please don't set off a security alarm." It didn't, and I slunk away.

The rest of the ride clicked along nicely, and I arrived at the Baymont late in the day, but intact. After taking a little R&R in my room, fortune smiled on me as there was a great little bar and grill next door to the motel (and little else!) where I ate the most Delish hamburger ever. Took a 30 minute shower, and lights out.

I can tell from the constant stares of strangers that my helmet tan is envied by everyone.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Ron SuchanekIt's hard to to gloat with a helmet tan. People might laugh, but deep down they are jealous.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mike JamisonAbsolutely! They are all thinking: "What a fascinating person."
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 99 miles (159 km)
Total: 279 miles (449 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bruce LellmanI've never heard of a cyclist crashing a funeral visitation in a church! Thank you for that. Great humor.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mike JamisonBruce, super late in responding, but I can't exaggerate my shock when I realized what I'd barged in to looking for water at that church.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago