Freeport, Illinois to Stoughton, Wisconsin - Mothers (Day) of Invention Tour - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2017

Freeport, Illinois to Stoughton, Wisconsin

Like a Wounded Animal Dragging Itself Back Home

Suspecting today's ride would not be a complete back breaker I slept in a little bit. Sadly, the Baymont complimentary breakfast menu offered biscuits and gravy as the main item, with a back-up choice of stale donuts. I was going to return to my room and make instant oatmeal but man oh man who knew how great those biscuits and gravy would taste!! Amazing how a gaping calorie deficit can reset the bar for what you consider worthy food to consume. Two platefuls, incidentally. I did go back to the room to brew my two remaining Starbucks instant coffee packets. Coffee cannot be left to chance.

Morning Coffee
Heart 3 Comment 0

The last thing I did before I left the room was to re-dose my cycling shorts with baking soda. The hind end was pretty sore and my hopes for any relief were thin, but I decided to follow "the program." Much of the day's ride would again be on bike trails ... crushed limestone for the most part, so the going would be slow. The first 25 miles were truly agony. My rear end was screaming "Uncle!" I gave serious thought to the idea of finding a sag wagon to bring me home. But, Margaret (my wife) was at work, and I don't think any Uber drivers are operating out of Monroe, Wisconsin so I stopped whimpering and toughed it out. After 30 miles though, the Heinie started feeling somewhat better.

Welcome to Wisconsin: Land of Harsh Austerity
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanI grew up in Forest Lake, MN which is not very far from Wisconsin. So many of your photos bring back memories of my childhood. It's nice to feel right at home reading a cycling journal.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mike JamisonBruce we are BIG fans of Minnesota and even more so Minnesotans. We are avid cross country skiers and over the years have become friends with several people from Minn. through that sport. Good people up there.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

There had been a thunderstorm that rolled through the area the night before and it led to quite a bit of debris on the trail, and a couple spots with full on obstructions.

DIY Trail Sign Outside Orangeville, Il
Heart 2 Comment 0
This obstruction required some serious limbo/sidestep maneuvering
Heart 2 Comment 0
This one required less creativity
Heart 2 Comment 0

The rest of the day was glorious though. The rear end came through, the weather was again beautiful with a ripping south wind to propel me home, and instead of being a 75 mile day, for once I UNDER estimated the day's ride and it was a mere 67 miles. Win, win, and win.

Rest stop at Monticello, Wisconsin.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Forrest Gump impersonation.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 346 miles (557 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0