The Danube!: Domos Camping - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2015

The Danube!: Domos Camping

Well, they fixed the door to my room last night at about 9:15 pm. The door opened to the outside at the top of a metal staircase. I made a fuss about the air conditioning as well, so they gave me the controller. That allowed me to close the windows and keep out some of the traffic noise. There was traffic all night!

I had gone to sleep hoping that an early start would help reduce traffic, but it was still really, really busy. And there was a lot of climbing, starting right away in Retsag. It was just over 10 miles of traffic and hills before the road dropped down to the Danube. After 2 days of thinking I had made it out of the mountains, I finally made it out of the mountains!

First view of the Danube, exciting even through a chain link fence.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Okay, a proper view of the Danube.
Heart 1 Comment 0

There was a bike path, separate from the sidewalk, with lots of cyclists, and people waved and smiled.

I've joined Eurovelo 6.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It has really heated up, with temperatures in Budapest predicted near 100 F this weekend, so I'm planning on taking it easy and having some recovery days.

I took the ferry across the Danube so I could get to Domos Camping. It is a large campsite, but with lots of shade. I set up my tent in a shady spot, and took advantage of the washing machine to wash almost everything I have with me. The wash was a little bit of a challenge. The cost did not include detergent, and they didn't have any for sale. But the host at the campground rode his bike off somewhere, and came back within 10 minutes with a careful measuring cup of detergent in hand. Then it took a few tries to get the machine started, but now my laundry is hanging up to dry. I'm having a lazy afternoon, trying not to do anything to get hot, and just relaxing.

Today's ride: 35 km (22 miles)
Total: 1,762 km (1,094 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0