Stockholm - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

July 13, 2015

Stockholm

I spent the day wandering around the city, and also collecting information about the road ahead. The city is big ... and crowded! My hotel is in Old Stockholm, and there is a lot to see nearby, but I just enjoyed walking the streets and admiring the old buildings.

Cobbles in Old Stockolm are bumpy whether on bike or on foot.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's interesting to see how the various forms of transportation intermingled. Pedestrians and bikes and cars seem present in comparable quantities. I saw just one exception to people following the right of way rules. That was when a high end sports car zoomed through an intersection when the pedestrians had the green light. I was in the intersection, and it scared me a bit, but no one else seemed to react.

Bike signage is plentiful, if you look for it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A crowded shopping street.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I went to the tourist office to try to get information about the ferry, but they just sent me to the ferry office. It was nearby, in the bus depot, so that was okay. It seems like everywhere you go for information you need to take a number, and then it takes quite a while, maybe 15 minutes, for your number to come up. I waited at the tourist office, and then at the bus depot to find out where the ferry office was, and then at the ferry office.

Heart 0 Comment 0
The cathedral.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back at the hotel, I was able to get all the gears on my bike working with very little effort. Yay! Then I realized that I hadn't gotten any fuel for my stove. I asked the concierge where to find it. He tried to send to a big store 20 miles south of Stockholm. I think it was a Swedish equivalent of Home Depot. But I went out and found some at a nearby grocery store. Score!

Found some fuel for my stove at a grocery store. It's really pink! I looked up denatured alcohol in Swedish, and this is it. I guess they add some color so it can't be confused with water.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0