More west than south - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2015

More west than south

Aiming for the border with Poland

I got up and rolling early, out the door at 7:30. There was no breakfast at the B&B. A little online poking around suggested it should be available for an additional cost, but I had not been offered and didn't ask. What I did get was a big bag of apples, probably 5 pounds. There was an apple tree behind the house, and all night long I heard rustle-rustle-smack as apples fell from the tree. In the morning, as I returned the key and was heading out the door, the homeowner offered me an apple from a bowl. Every single one was significantly bruised, and although he had washed them, there were some ants. I graciously took one and thanked him, and he said no, and got a plastic bag to give me all of them. I put the bag of apples on my rear rack, and rode off up the hill with them. But at the first opportunity, I ungratefully got rid of them.

Bike path leaving Trakai. Note the absence of curb cuts.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was just a few km before I came to a resort and spa that had a restaurant that opened at 7! I went in, asked how much, and really enjoyed the buffet.

The ride today would have been a nice one, but it was hot hot hot. I've never been so hot. I stopped a few times for cold drinks and ice cream, and drank up all my water.

I think this is the first free public toilet I've seen in the Baltic. It was also the first squatter I've seen here.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At one of my stops, I got a really cold cold drink. Usually beer is in the fridge and soft drinks and water are on the shelves. Even if they are refrigerated, they aren't really cold. But this one was cold! The problem was that there was a drunk guy in the shop. I was finishing up my Fanta (no, I don't drink that stuff at home) considering what to get as a followup, when the drunk guy went out and started messing with my bike. So I gave up the 2nd cold drink and took possession of my bike. I put the handlebar bag on the handlebars and was getting ready to put my leg over the top tube when he made a big deal of looking at the map on the handlebar bag. Stay away from that! It has my wallet and phone and even passport! I think I was rude to him, but my handlebar bag is sacrosanct!

I rode on to Alytus, where I'm staying at a hotel I reserved midday on booking.com. Alytus is a larger town, even a city, which I hadn't expected. The Hotel Ode isn't in the best location in terms of my route, and I had a little bit of a hard time finding it. It isn't air conditioned, and the sun was beating in the window when I arrived. With the drapes closed but the window open, and also with the door propped open, I have a decent breeze, and I hope it will cool off.

Oh, I nearly forgot. I think the eye infection is resolved. My eye is nowhere near as red, and it feels fine. I'll use the antibiotic drops for a few more days, and that hopefully will be that.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 km (47 miles)
Total: 1,106 km (687 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0