It always rains in Latvia - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

July 29, 2015

It always rains in Latvia

With acknowledgement to Chris Poutney who says it's a fact!

It rained all night long. I woke up early in my tent and listened to the rain on the fly. It let up, and I stuffed my sleeping bag and other gear, and headed to the bathroom, dropping my food supply in the washing up area. Then it started to rain again. I spent nearly 2 hours sitting on the edge of the sink watching the rain. No one else was up and about. I went back to my tent and re-inflated my travel pillow and stretched out for a bit. As soon as I had settled in, the rain let up again. I got up and packed up, wet tent and all.

I headed east on the P9 for 12 miles. I didn't want to ride the highway with the reduced visibility and the spray from the cars and trucks, so I've deviated from the EuroVelo route and the route I've set up in my GPS. Of course, the rain started up again, and I was a sloppy mess.

I stopped for lunch and to get out of the rain. The place I stopped was fairly isolated, and there were just a few people there when I arrived. Then people started coming in for lunch, first the road crew, then police, then some people who looked like office workers. I guess it's the local lunch spot. I went on into the city of Lingazi, and found my way to the tourist office. They didn't offer much advice as far as routing, but did give me a copy of the detailed cycling routes that I hadn't gotten when I crossed into Latvia. I headed south after Lingaze, following the signs for Latvian Cycle Route 7. It continued to rain off and on, and with the sky looking especially threatening, I stopped at a restaurant. It was adjacent to the Igaze Pils, which is an old castle that is now a hotel. So I stopped for the night.

The campsite beach in the morning.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The inland route was mostly farm land.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bike route 7 leaving Limbazi.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My room in the castle. Yes, this is basically the whole room. It was small.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 km (26 miles)
Total: 629 km (391 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0